Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer
Ferris State University BulldogFerris State University Logo

Lab Safety Committee

Lab Safety Committee

To raise hazardous substance awareness and to identify the areas in which the University is in as well as in need of compliance so that an enhance system of education, training, and compliance can be established, implemented and successfully maintained.


  • Felix Amissah, Chair of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacy
  • Tom Dowling (Committee Co-Chair), College of Pharmacy
  • David Frank, Chair of Physical Sciences, College of Arts Sciences and Education
  • Sheila MacEachron, Professor, College of Health Professions
  • Gary Maike, Director, School of Automotive & Heavy Equipment Technology, College of Engineering Technology
  • Mike McKay (Committee Co-Chair), SHERM, Director
  • Steve Reifert, Associate Provost of Academic Operations
  • Michele Upton, SHERM, Assistant Director
  • Beth Zimmer, Chair of Biological Sciences, College of Arts Sciences and Education
  • Vacant, Physical Plant Representative

All lab safety policies and procedures are now located in the SHERM site.