College of Pharmacy


College of Pharmacy Reengagement Guide 

Ferris State University Coronavirus Campus Information and Updates

Continuing Education Opportunities

seminar photo
  • Infectious Disease Conference via Zoom Saturday, March 13, 2021
  • 68th Annual Spring Seminar Monday and Tuesday, May 24-25, 2021

Dr. Sonali Kurup, Pharmacy Associate Professor, Awarded $377,805 NIH Anticancer Drug Research Grant

Dr. Sonali Kurup

Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry Sonali Kurup has received a grant from the National Institutes of Health's National Cancer Institute for $377,805 to study novel dual-targeted inhibitors of EGFR and aurora kinase. These enzymes contribute to uncontrolled cancer cell division and resistance to approved anticancer agents. Read more here.


Pharmacy professor, Dr. Eric Nybo, awarded nearly $800,000 in federal research grants to support cancer research

nybo research

The research is funded by 2 new federal grants, from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Science Foundation (NSF), and will utilize biosynthesis to create novel compounds that may be used as anti-cancer and anti-infective agents. The research will be conducted in the Hagerman School of Pharmacy, and will provide support for 7 undergraduate and professional students to work on the projects.

Dr. Nybo recently described his grant, funded by the National Cancer Institute, to Christine Kanerva during an interview for TV 9&10 News.

The NCI award was also recognized by US Congressman John Moolenaar in a statement posted on July 31, 2020.



Ferris Pharmacy Students and Faculty Present Research at 2019 ACCP Annual  Meeting in NYC


FSU Students presented research projects on antimicrobial use patterns in various outpatient settings, conducted with their faculty advisor, Dr. Michael Klepser.


Ferris Student Wins National Leadership Recognition

Connor Anderson


On January 28th, 2020 the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) announced its list of Academy Awards recipients.  Connor Anderson, a P3 student in the Doctor of Pharmacy program at Ferris State University and member of the APhA’s Academy of Student Pharmacists (ASP), was awarded the APhA Student Leadership Award.  This national honor “recognizes outstanding academic achievement and leadership ability in APhA-ASP at the local, regional, and national levels of students who are currently in their next to the last year of pharmacy school.” Mr. Anderson will receive his award during a special ceremony at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition to be held in National Harbor, MD on March 20-23, 2020.  In addition, Mr. Anderson has been selected to serve on APhA-ASP’s National Awards Standing Committee. 

Ferris State Pharmacy Faculty and Students Present at 2019 AACP Annual Meeting 

AACP 2019

The FSU College of Pharmacy was well represented at the 2019 Annual Meeting of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), held in Chicago on July 13-17, 2019.


Minji Sohn - Publishes on substance use research

Minji Sohn

Dr. Sohn’s substance use research was recently published in JAMA Network Open (June 25, 2019). The study found that legally mandating naloxone co-prescriptions for patients at high risk for opioid overdose is associated with large increases in naloxone dispensing in retail pharmacies.

A story about Dr. Sohn’s work was featured on Northern Michigan’s 9&10 News on August 2, 2019.