Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer
Ferris State University BulldogFerris State University Logo

Academic Affairs Assessment Committee

Purpose, Organizational Structure, and Reporting

The Academic Affairs Assessment Committee (AAAC) is a joint standing faculty-administrative committee that promotes division-wide collaboration and facilitates the implementation of policies and initiatives to foster a culture of assessment that promotes evidence-based improvement. The AAAC reports directly to the Associate Provost for Assessment who represents the committee to the Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA). The committee is charged to provide recommendations to the VPAA on matters related to the direction and oversight for all assessment activities in the division.


Working within a model of shared governance, the AAAC is responsible for the following:

  1. Establishing the development, exchange, and the advancement of best practices and excellence in assessment;
  2. Monitoring and evaluating processes and methodologies to assess student learning and ensure mechanisms reflect good practice and include the substantial participation of faculty and other instructional staff members;
  3. Providing guidance and resources to support assessment practices;
  4. Collaborating with the units of Academic Affairs to develop and maintain a culture of unit-owned continuous quality improvement;
  5. Regularly auditing assessment practices including current initiatives, data collection, and outcomes;
  6. Developing recommendations to help the institution achieve greater effectiveness and efficiency as a result of assessment practices;
  7. Directing and evaluating administration schedules and analysis of institutional measures of success (e.g., NSSE, FSSE) in coordination with other divisions;
  8. Assisting academic units to prepare for and meet assessment-related accreditation expectations;
  9. Directing, evaluating, and supporting divisional quality improvement initiatives (often a required component of the institution’s reaffirmation of accreditation) and the institution-level measurements that track improvements from those efforts; and
  10. Evaluating the progress and outcomes of these charges on an annual basis, using data to inform the work of the committee.

Committee Membership

A committee member may represent more than one group, but represents one vote on the committee. All members are responsible for serving as a communication liaison between the committee and their respective unit(s), providing intentional connection with unit-based assessment committees. The membership of the AAAC includes the following voting members: 

  • A faculty representative from each College/Unit* assessment committee appointed by the Dean or their designee (n= 12)
  • An administrative representative** with assessment responsibilities from each College/Unit*, appointed by the Dean or their designee (n= 12).
  • The chair of the University Curriculum Committee (n=1)
  • The chair of the Academic Program Review Committee (n=1)
  • The General Education Assessment Coordinator (n=1)
  • The associate provost with responsibilities for assessment (n=1)


Co-Chairs: elected annually and consist of one (1) faculty member and one (1) administrative member with the following responsibilities:

  1. Schedule and facilitate committee meetings.
  2. Establish and communicate agendas.
  3. Provide updates to the committee on assessment initiatives, policies, and procedures.
  4. Support opportunities for the exchange of information between the committee and various stakeholders.
  5. Share advice and feedback to groups dealing with issues that are within the domain of the committee’s purpose.
  6. Serve as the liaison between the committee and the Provost’s office.

Appoint subcommittees and/or champions from within the membership to lead initiatives of the committee as needed (ex. NSSE/FSSE, Excellence in Assessment Award, Communication Plan).

Secretary (1): Administrative Assistant to the Associate Provost serves as ex-officio member of the committee with the following responsibilities:

  1. Collaborate with the co-chairs to prepare meeting materials and facilitate logistics.
  2. Maintain official, committee-approved minutes and facilitate their distribution.
  3. Assist the co-chairs as requested.

Committee Membership 2020-2021

  • Stacy Anderson, FLITE Library 
  • Katie Axford, Academic Program Review/College of Pharmacy
  • Megan Biller, Doctorate in Community College Leadership/Extended and International Operations 
  • Peter Bradley, Honors Program, University College 
  • Alex Cartwright, Academic Program Review/College of Business
  • David Damari, Michigan College of Optometry
  • Mark Dunneback, College of Engineering Technology 
  • Cliff Franklund, General Education 
  • Monica Frees, University College
  • Jennifer Hegenauer, Academic Affairs/Extended and International Operations 
  • Angie Hollister, Academic Affairs 
  • Alison Jenerou, Michigan College of Optometry 
  • Rodney Larson, College of Pharmacy 
  • Rusty Leonard, University Curriculum Committee/College of Engineering Technology  
  • Leah Monger, FLITE Library 
  • Theresa Raglin, College of Health Professions 
  • Julie Rowan, Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning 
  • Lisa Salvati, College of Pharmacy
  • Mandy Seiferlein, Academic Affairs 
  • Melissa Smith, College of Arts, Sciences and Education
  • Michael Staley, College of Engineering Technology
  • Tyler Watts, College of Business 
  • Michelle Weemaes, College of Health Professions 
  • Trinidy Williams, College of Arts, Sciences and Education
  • Jim Woolen, College of Business