24/7 Phone Support
Toll Free: (877) 779-4822
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
IT Core Service Support
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Any student found guilty of fraudulent calls will be held responsible for the entire fraudulent bill. An investigation fee may be charged in those cases where a violation of University policy occurs and may be referred to Student Judicial Services for further action. If a student has shared their authorization code with another student and claims fraud, the holder (owner) of the auth code is responsible for the total bill. A fee may be charged where this type of fraud has been indicated and a violation of University policy has occurred and may be referred to Student Judicial Services for further action.
Any employee found guilty of fraudulent calls will be held responsible for the entire fraudulent bill. An investigation fee may be charged in those cases where this type of fraud has been indicated and a violation of University policy occurs and may be referred to Human Resources for further action.
The law of the State of Michigan (MCL 750.219a) provides that it is a crime to knowingly obtain, or attempt to obtain, a telecommunications service with the intent to avoid lawful charges for those services. When services are obtained through unauthorized access, a counterfeit access device, or a fraudulent or deceptive scheme, the law has been violated. Possible criminal charges range from a misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of 93 days in jail and/or a fine of $500, up to a felony with the maximum penalty of 10 years in prison and/or a fine of $15,000.
Michigan State Law (Public Act No. 328 of 1931) prohibits the use of telephone communication for these types of calls and provides that any person violating this statute may be imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or fined not more than $1000.00 or both.
If you receive a call in any of the above categories, record the following information:
IMMEDIATELY REPORT THE ABOVE INFORMATION TO THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY AT EXTENSION 5000.
All telephones, associated wiring and equipment on campus are the property of Ferris State University. Students and employees are responsible for all damages done to the property that are over and above normal wear. If this equipment is damaged, the student responsible will be billed. If a specific student cannot be identified as having caused the damages, all students in the same room will share the cost, including appropriate service charge. If work equipment is damaged, the employee/department responsible will be billed.