Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer
Ferris State University BulldogFerris State University Logo

Ferris State University Police Officer Memorial

Tribute to Ferris Officers on National Peace Officers Memorial Day.

President John F. Kennedy created National Peace Officers Memorial Day in 1962 by proclamation, with May 15 designated as the day of remembrance. Ferris State University and its local law enforcement partners are among several groups who hold a Police Memorial ceremony during National Police Week.

Listed below are six fallen alumni who have given the ultimate sacrifice. Click on the hyperlinked name or their photos to read more information about them.

Police Officer Dean Whitehead
EOW: May 9, 1985

Officer Whitehead

Michigan State Trooper Bryon Egelski
EOW: July 11, 1994

Trooper Egelski

Police Officer Jessica Nagle-Wilson
EOW: July 28, 2002

Officer Nagle-Wilson

Police Officer James McCandless
EOW: August 2, 2011

Officer McCandless
Police Officer Trevor Slot
EOW: October 13, 2011

Officer Trevor Slot

Sergeant Collin Rose
EOW: November 23, 2016

Sergeant Rose

2022 Police Memorial

2022 News Release

2022 Photos