Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer
Ferris State University BulldogFerris State University Logo

Natural Sciences Committee

Committee Charge

In collaboration with the General Education Coordinator and University General Education Committee, the Natural Sciences competency committee is responsible for:  

  • Evaluating new Natural Sciences course proposals;
  • Monitoring Natural Sciences assessment activities;
  • Reporting on evidence of student learning in Natural Sciences courses;
  • Conducting periodic recertification of Natural Sciences courses. 

Committee Composition

The Natural Sciences committee consists of three members from the Physical Sciences or Biological Sciences (at least one from each) and three members from units other than the College of Arts, Sciences and Education. Memberships are for three year terms that expire at the end of the academic year.

Committee Members (2023/2024 academic year)

  • Luis Rivera (chair), CASE - Physical Sciences. Term Ends Fall 2024
  • Jennifer Johnson, CASE - at large. Term Ends Fall 2026.
  • Scott Herron, CASE - Biological Sciences. Term Ends Fall 2025.
  • Tanzia Sharmin, CET. Term Ends Fall 2024. 
  • Jenice Winowiecki, Academic Advisors. Term Ends Fall 2026.
  • Vacant. Term Ends Fall 2025.