Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

IRB Committee

Ferris State Institutional Review Board (IRB) approves all research projects involving human subjects. The IRB's responsibilities include overseeing the protection of the rights and welfare of human subjects' involved in research. Committee members are comprised of Ferris faculty, staff and community members with various backgrounds and research interests. Human subject research continues to grow on campus; if you have an interest in serving on the committee, contact [email protected].

Committee Member College/Department
David J. Alban, Ph.D. Education 
Katie Axford, Pharm.D Pharmacy
Mike Ennis, Ph.D. Education and DCCL Program
Heather Girand, Pharm.D Pharmacy
Brady Jester, BS, Ordained Minister Community Member
Brian McDowell, OD Optometry
Paula McDowell, OD, FAAO Optometry
Kathryn J. Niemeyer, PhD, MSc, MSN, FNP-BC, RN Nursing 
Christopher J. Richmond, Ph.D., LMFT, LP Counseling Center 
Gregory Wellman, R.Ph., Ph.D (Chair) Pharmacy 
David R. White, Ph.D., MJA Criminal Justice
Kathryn Woods, Ph.D., M.S.W., M.P.A., LCSW Social Work

IRB meets monthly during the academic year (September-May). 

Contact Information

Ferris State University Institutional Review Board
1010 Campus Drive, FLITE 410
Big Rapids, MI 49307

PHONE: (231) 591-2553
[email protected]