Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer
Ferris State University BulldogFerris State University Logo

2020 DCCL Alumni Leadership Symposium

Ferris State UniversityBuilding on Our Past, Looking Toward the Future

Monday, June 29, 2020
2:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. (Eastern)
A virtual event hosted on Zoom

The DCCL Alumni Steering Committee is pleased to invite you to the second Doctorate in Community College Leadership Alumni Leadership Symposium.

Join us as we expand our networks, reconnect with cohort friends, and develop our professional potential all while celebrating 10 years of the DCCL program. All alumni, current students, faculty, and advisory board members (past and present) are welcome.


The event fee is $50.00 and registration is open through Sunday, June 28.  If you have questions or need registration assistance, contact [email protected] or (231) 591-5808.

Event Agenda
2:00 -
2:15 p.m.
Welcome & Announcements
2:15 -
3:15 p.m.
Keynote Address

Community Colleges Advancing Equity During Uncertain Times

Dr. Eboni Zamani-Gallaher, Professor of Higher Education/Community College Leadership,  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Eboni M. Zamani-Gallaher, Ph.D,Eboni M. Zamani-Gallaher is Professor of Higher Education/Community College Leadership in the Department of Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She is also Director of the Office for Community College Research and Leadership (OCCRL) and Associate Head of the EPOL Department. She holds a PhD in Higher Education Administration with a specialization in Community College Leadership and Educational Evaluation from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Her teaching, research, and consulting activities largely include psychosocial adjustment and transition of marginalized collegians, transfer, access policies, student development and services at community colleges. Read more at

3:15 -
3:30 p.m.
3:30 -
4:15 p.m. 
Panel Discussion

How My Campus is Faring During COVID-19 While Keeping Equity at the Forefront

  • Victoria Akinde, Director of Access Services/Adjunct Faculty, Harper College, IL (Harper Cohort)
  • Michael Couch, Director of Financial Aid Outreach, Ivy Tech Community College, IN (Cohort 7)
  • Armando Burciaga, TRiO Student Support Services Director, Red Rocks Community College, CO (Cohort 7)
  • Lesley Frederick, Vice President, Student Services, Lincoln Land Community College, IL (Cohort 2)
  • Margaret Lawler, EEO Investigator, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, IL (Cohort 7)
4:15 -
4:30 p.m.
4:30 -
5:30 p.m.
Social Hour