Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Retention and Student Success Office Announces Scholarship Winners

Retention and Student SuccessThirteen Ferris State University students enrolled in the Developmental Curriculum Program during the 2011-12 academic year and earned a 3.0 GPA or higher have been awarded scholarships. 

“We are pleased to recognize the accomplishments of these students who, in the tradition of founder Woodbridge N. Ferris, took advantage of the opportunity presented to them to become successful students at the university,” said William Potter, associate provost of Retention and Student Success. “We would also like to take this opportunity to thank all the donors who have made these scholarships possible.”

The awards, which range from $1,000 to $1,500, were funded by gifts and endowments made to the university’s Retention and Student Success unit. Students were nominated by faculty and staff, and vetted by the associate provost’s office staff and the Financial Aid office.

Five students received Dean’s Scholarships, three of which were funded by gifts made to RSS. Two awards were funded by the “Jeans for the Dean” fund made possible with RSS staff contributions throughout the year in exchange for the opportunity to dress down on Fridays.  Dean’s Scholarships went to:

  • Shane Douglas, of Stanwood, who is in the process of selecting a major as a student in the Developmental Curriculum department.
  • Domonique Ferguson, of Chicago, who is enrolling in the Applied Biology, Pre-veterinary Program in the College of Arts, Sciences and Education.
  • Kaitlyn Franks, of Fowlerville, who has entered the Psychology degree program in the College of Arts, Sciences and Education.
  • Elijah Melton, of Lansing, who will enroll in the Marketing degree program in the College of Business.
  • Martin Unaeze, of Big Rapids, who is entering the Pre-Optometry degree program in the College of Arts, Sciences and Education.

Four students received scholarships from the Harry S. Melling Memorial Scholarship fund, developed with gifts from the Melling family: 

  • Bryant Alexander, of Detroit, a College of Engineering Technology student enrolled in the Architecture Technology degree program.
  • Matthew Cousineau, of Paris, a Computer Information Systems student in the College of Business.
  • Steven Davis, of Davison, enrolled in the Welding Engineering Technology degree program.
  • Troy Hanson, of Big Rapids, enrolled in the Construction Management program in the College of Engineering Technology.

Two students received awards from the Joan E. Totten Scholarship fund made possible by gifts from family, friends and colleagues in honor of the former member of the RSS staff:

  • Jesse Dickinson, of Big Rapids, who is seeking a degree in English Education in collaboration with the colleges of Education and Human Services, and Arts, Sciences and Education.
  • Lauren Fowler, of Portland, is enrolled in the College of Health Professions.

One student received a scholarship from the Susan L. Greene Memorial fund:

  • Irene Monroe, of Big Rapids, who has entered the Health Information Technology program in the College of Health Professions.

And one student was awarded a scholarship from the newest fund, the Patricia and Edward Sammel Memorial fund, established in 2011-12:

  • Briana Bailey, of Montclair, N.J., who intends to enter the Pre-Nursing program in the College of Health Professions.

The Developmental Curriculum Department of Ferris State University’s Retention and Student Success unit provides a variety of courses to students seeking to improve their academic readiness or to determine their career path. Its faculty members are committed to developing and offering educational opportunities that prepare students for the academic challenges of university life. The services provided promote personal, academic, cultural and social growth according to the principles of adult learning and development.