Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer
Ferris State University BulldogFerris State University Logo

Tenth Doctorate of Community College Leadership Program Cohort to Celebrate Graduation May 6

PhotoThe tenth cohort of Ferris State University’s Doctorate of Community College Leadership program will participate in commencement ceremonies on Friday, May 6.

The 10th cohort of Ferris State University’s Doctorate in Community College Leadership program will receive hoods in a ceremony in the College of Business on Friday, May 6, before joining College of Pharmacy graduates for commencement later that evening at 7 p.m.

According to DCCL Director Megan Biller, 22 students who began coursework in Summer 2019 will graduate. The majority of the cohort serves in leadership positions at Michigan institutions, while peers from Maryland, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois and Arizona have joined them in the program.

“The DCCL staff and faculty are excited to celebrate with the entire cohort, throughout the day,” Biller said. “This cohort had instruction based in Schoolcraft College, but COVID restrictions meant their learning continued, through some flexible and creative means.”

Biller added that these graduates and students already see advancement as a product of their learning through the DCCL program.

“Data we collected across the three years of coursework for this cohort showed more than 70 percent of the students took on a new role at their institution or saw them given increased responsibilities,” Biller said.

Those who have completed their requirements or have dissertations in process as part of DCCL Cohort Ten include:

  • Marita Abram, an associate professor and LSAMP program coordinator for Sinclair Community College, Dayton, Ohio
  • Michele Albright, career development consultant and business liaison, Ferris State University
  • Stephanie Briggs, director of Admissions, Muskegon Community College
  • Darci Cather, vice president of Academic Affairs, Shawnee Community College, Ullin, Illinois
  • Chardin Claybourne, faculty member in Learning Lab/Tutoring Services, Henry Ford College, Dearborn
  • James Fitzgerald, program chair of Business Administration, Ivy Tech Community College, Kokomo, Indiana
  • Amanda Flaugher, Dean of Students, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College, Mount Pleasant
  • Cassandra Fluker, student activities officer, Henry Ford College
  • Robert Griffith, MyDegree system administrator, Ferris State University
  • Adam Hatchew, director of Advising and Retention, West Shore Community College, Scottville
  • Jeff Hooks, executive director of Campus Life, Southwestern Michigan College, Dowagiac
  • Shai James-Boyd, assistant director of Institutional Advancement, Henry Ford College
  • John Meeuwenberg, Developmental Math coordinator, Muskegon Community College
  • John Neuffer, Guided Pathways director, Lake Michigan College, Benton Harbor
  • Kristin Oakes, department chair, Academic Support and Student Success, Ivy Tech Community College, Layafette, Indiana
  • Mary Pelcher, curriculum design specialist, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
  • Larisa Pfieffer, chief of staff, College of Southern Maryland, La Plata
  • Keambra Pierson, Associate Dean, Business Entrepreneurship and Professional Development, Henry Ford College
  • Gena Qualls, grants and special projects coordinator, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
  • Catherine Smith, President, Rio Salado College, Tempe, Arizona
  • Archie Thomas, associate Math professor, Ivy Tech Community College, Kokomo
  • Rebecca Wulf, associate professor and department chair, Math and Science, Ivy Tech Community College, Lafayette

Approximately 2,100 students are expected to graduate this spring, with about 1,600 expected to participate in commencement ceremonies on May 6-7. These commencement ceremonies will be the last with President David Eisler presiding as he prepares for retirement at the end of June.