Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer
Ferris State University BulldogFerris State University Logo

Honors Council

Charter Statement

(adopted 3/27/2017) The Honors Council participates in the formulation of policies and procedures of the Honors Program and serves as an advisory body to the Honors Program Director. 

The Honors Council is made up of one member of each of the colleges with Honors students; and one representative from each of Ferris’ Graduate Programs. The Dean of University College, the Director of Enrollment Management, the Director of the Center for Leadership Activities and Service, the Director of Housing and Residence Life, the Vice President for Diversity or Inclusion, the Director of the Office of International Education and the Director for Community Engagement or their appointees, serve ex officio. The three student members, representing Honors Student Council, Honors Peer Mentor Program and the Honors Programming Board, are nominated by Honors Student Council. All members are appointed by the Director of Honors, in consultation with the Deans or Vice Presidents of the respective divisions.

Representatives of the Honors Council typically identify and promote events, innovations and areas of possible collaboration between Honors and the constituencies they represent.

There will be three standing committees of the Honors Council: the Enrollment Management Subcommittee, which oversees the admission and retention of students to the Honors Program; the Honors Curriculum Committee, which oversees the development and maintenance of the Honors curriculum; and the Completion Subcommittee, which oversees assessment, the Senior Symposium and completion.

Council Members - 2019/2020 

  • Peter Bradley, Honors Director (ex officio)
  • Christopher Redker, Associate Professor of Psychology 
  • Tony Baker, Executive Director of Community Engagement
  • Jason Bentley, Dean of University College 
  • Cathy Bordeau, Honors Advisor (ex officio)
  • Valerie Campbell, International Admissions Coordinator
  • Sharon George, Director of Student Academic Affairs at COB
  • James Miller, Professor at MCO
  • Angie Mishler, Director of Student Academic Affairs at CET
  • Piram Prakasam, Executive Director at the Office of International Education 
  • Angela Roman, CLACS Director and Coordinator of the Leadership Center
  • Jeffery Stewart, Assistant Director of Admissions Recruitment Processes 
  • Tara Lee, Director of Admissions College of Pharmacy
  • Madeline Keely, President of Honors Student Association
  • Melody Antel, President of Honors Peer Mentors
  • Grace Jipping, Chair of Honors Service Committee
  • Laura Prentler, Chair of Honors Events Committee