Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Supporters, Organizers Prepare for The Ferris Foundation Benefit Nov. 6 in Grand Rapids

Ferris State UniversitySupporters are reminded that The Ferris Foundation for Excellence’s 17th Annual Benefit will be held Friday, Nov. 6 in the Steelcase Ballroom of DeVos Place Convention Center in Grand Rapids, Mich.

Carla Miller, executive director of The Ferris Foundation, said that Meijer, Inc., RoMan Manufacturing and MEEMIC Insurance are among the sponsor organizations who are either first-time supporters of the Benefit, or have increased their contribution.

”The evening is meant to support Ferris State University students,” Miller said. “We have a tremendous amount of support from alumni and friends of the university. These sponsorships are a sample of some of the work that is being done.”

The Ferris Foundation for Excellence Scholarship Program provides financial assistance for students who might not otherwise have access to a Ferris education. Scholarship recipients will be among the guests at the Benefit, and the students will be highlighted during Ferris President David Eisler’s remarks that evening.

Miller also praised John and Joanne Hare of Dallas, Texas for their commitment of financial resources and service offered to The Ferris Foundation.

”John and Joanne are both graduates of Ferris State University, and John has an honorary doctorate,” Miller said. “Their support over the years has been instrumental in moving the needle as far as philanthropy is concerned. We look forward to John stepping in as the chair of The Ferris Foundation on Nov. 6.”

Exceptional Merit Grants are also awarded by the foundation each year to faculty and staff members, for initiatives that represent the collaborative and innovative spirit of Ferris State University.

The Benefit begins at 5:30 p.m. with a cocktail reception for sponsors, the program will begin with dinner at 7 p.m. and legendary endurance swimmer Diana Nyad, author of the new book “Find A Way” will deliver the keynote address at 8:30 p.m.