Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Dr. Bruce Morgan Named Interim Dean of the Michigan College of Optometry

Dr. Bruce MorganFerris State University has announced the appointment of Dr. Bruce Morgan as interim dean of the Michigan College of Optometry. The appointment, announced by the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, is effective on Friday, Aug. 24.

“I’d like to thank all those who provided feedback following Dr. Morgan’s open forum session,” said Fritz Erickson, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs. “Additionally, I’d like to thank Bruce for his willingness to serve in this important position in the Michigan College of Optometry as we continue the search for a permanent dean.”

Most recently, Dr. Morgan has served as a professor in the MCO. He is chief of the Cornea and Contact Lens Service, and director of Residencies and Externships. Dr. Morgan will replace the current dean, Dr. Michael Cron, who announced his retirement last fall and will complete his service to Ferris on Thursday, Aug. 23.

Dr. Morgan has 25 years of experience as an optometrist and educator. He is a member of numerous professional organizations, including president of the Association of Contact Lens Educators, fellow of the American Academic of Optometry, member of the Cornea and Contact Lens Section of the American Optometric Association, and advisory board member for the Gas Permeable Lens Institute. Additionally, his relationships with representatives in the contact lens industry around the country have greatly benefited Ferris’ clinical research and residency programs.

Dr. Morgan’s research interests include gas-permeable contact lenses, keratoconous (degeneration of the structure of the cornea) and corneal reshaping, and he specializes in the design and fitting of orthokeratology lenses for the purpose of non-surgical reduction of myopia (nearsightedness). He also has been involved in numerous accreditation processes for both college and residency programs, including serving as a member of the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education.