Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Anti-Violence Alliance Receives Distinguished Team Award

Ferris State UniversityMembers of Ferris State University's Anti-Violence Alliance attended the Fifth Annual Let's End Campus Sexual Assault conference, held at Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti, in December of 2019. The Anti-Violence Alliance has been selected to receive the Distinguished Team Award for the 2019-20 academic year.

Nearly three dozen Ferris State University students, faculty members and staff were active in the development and presentation of a campus-wide sexual misconduct prevention plan were chosen as the Distinguished Team Award recipients for the 2019-20 academic year.
Dean of Student Life Joy Pulsifer said that the Anti-Violence Alliance is committed to building a strong, healthier and safer campus community.

“Over the past 15 months, our 35 students, faculty, and staff members have worked together to increase awareness to campus sexual violence by adapting, expanding, and developing new educational approaches to sexual violence prevention for our campus,” Pulsifer said. “In this same time, our passionate student peer educators have reached over 500 students through our bystander intervention program, which offers strategies for identifying and interrupting violence.”

The Anti-Violence Alliance was established in January 2019 through the support of a $40,000 grant from the Michigan State Police. Pulsifer said that a second Campus Sexual Assault Prevention Grant has been sought and received. That latter award will help to fund a Violence Prevention Coordinator position within the Office of the Dean of Student Life.

The University’s Athletic Department provided letters in support of the Anti-Violence Alliance’s consideration, the Greek Life program in Ferris’ Center for Leadership, Activities and Career Services and the Student Affairs division of the administration.

As a result of the campus closure that came about with developments related to the COVID-19 pandemic, a virtual celebration is expected to honor Distinguished Teacher, Staff and Team Award winners. That will likely include other individuals who have made exemplary contributions in work and service to the university.