Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

‘Blitz’ Intramural Team Achieves Regional, National Success

The Blitz flag football team, sanctioned by Ferris State University, is a competitive intramural sports team that plays in men’s, women’s and co-recreational divisions at various nationwide tournaments. The flag football season runs from October through January. The Blitz consists of 12 players, none of whom had to go through a tryout to compete.

Adrianna “AD” Mysliwski, a senior in Criminal Justice, has played two years for the Blitz. She said that being a part of this team has taught the starting quarterback life lessons on and off the field.

“I learned that even when things get tough, the fight is never over until that final whistle blows,” Mysliwski said. “Sometimes all it takes is taking a step back to calm yourself down and knowing what the goal is that you need to accomplish. Never give up.”

The team travels cross-country to attend various regional and national flag football tournaments. During the 2015-16 season, the Blitz competed in three regional tournaments, including at Grand Valley State University and Western Kentucky University. Additionally, the team played in one national tournament at the University of West Florida.

This season, the Blitz won two regional tournaments: in the co-recreational and women’s divisions. The team ended its season with a fourth-place finish at the National Intramural Recreation Sports Association National Flag Football Tournament. That success made the Blitz the most victorious intramural team in Ferris history.

The Blitz has competed the past four seasons. Since the team’s origination, the team has been coached by Fernando Labra, assistant director of intramurals and club sports.

“The Blitz players make my coaching job easy,” Labra said. “They’re well responsive, hard working, and they have great team chemistry.”

PHOTO CAPTION: Twelve students are members of The Blitz flag football team at Ferris State University. The team achieved both regional and national success during the recently-concluded 2015-16 season.

Last updated: 02-09-2016