Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Defending Champ Ferris Among 19 PGA Golf Management University Programs Vying for PGA Jones Cup

Ferris State UniversityPORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. – With 19 teams representing PGA Golf Management Universities nationwide, the 13th PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Advisor will be contested Nov. 4-5, at PGA Golf Club.

The 36-hole National Championship for PGA Golf Management Universities features 95 players (five from each school) with defending champion Ferris State University vying to repeat; and both Campbell University and Mississippi State University seeking a record fourth title.

PGAGM-Ferris State UniversityAll participating universities in the PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Advisor are schools accredited by the PGA of America to offer the PGA Golf Management University Program for aspiring PGA Professionals. There are currently 2,440 students enrolled in the program nationwide.

Among the competitors in the field are 2014 PGA Minority Collegiate Women’s Division Champion Tiana Jones, of the University of Maryland Eastern-Shore, and 2012 PGA Minority Collegiate Men’s Division Champion Justin Watkins, of the University of Central Oklahoma. Local golfers competing include Florida State University’s Andrew Story and Florida Gulf Coast University’s Austin Davenport, both of West Palm Beach.

“These future PGA members represent some of the finest playing PGA Golf Management University students,” said PGA Interim President Derek Sprague. “We join our partner, Golf Advisor, in welcoming each school, as they strive for the glory of victory, while demonstrating the ideals of teamwork and sportsmanship.”

Ferris State, in Big Rapids, Michigan, returns to the Tom Fazio-designed Wanamaker Course at PGA Golf Club in pursuit of a second consecutive title. Last year, Ferris State won by 10 strokes over runner-up Florida State.

“There are a couple of things we take seriously here at Ferris State: one is their education, and the other is for a PGA Professional to both play and teach to differentiate yourself as a young golf professional,” said Aaron Waltz, Ferris State PGA Golf Management University Program Director. “Last year, five outstanding seniors worked hard as a team to bring home the championship. It’s exciting to come back down and defend the PGA Jones Cup, represent our University, and make everyone proud.”

The PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Advisor is named for the first PGA Golf Management University Program Director at Mississippi State, Dr. S. Roland Jones, who held the position from 1985 until his passing in 1997. The event provides a platform where participants can display professionalism, integrity, character and camaraderie; all characteristics Dr. Jones instilled in PGA Golf Management students. Students in the PGA Golf Management University Program study a combination of golf and business-related subjects; serve a minimum of 16 months in on-course internships within the golf industry; and are eligible for direct election to PGA membership upon graduation and eligible employment.


The 2013 championship photo is of the Ferris State University PGM team winning the 12th PGA Jones Cup and is used courtesy of The PGA of America.

Past PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Advisor Champions

  • 2013 Ferris State University
  • 2012 Campbell University
  • 2011 N.C. State University
  • 2010 Mississippi State University
  • 2009 Campbell University
  • 2008 University of Idaho
  • 2007 Campbell University
  • 2006 New Mexico State University
  • 2005 Coastal Carolina University
  • 2004 Coastal Carolina University
  • 2003 Mississippi State University
  • 2002 Mississippi State University

13th PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Advisor Field

  • Campbell University
  • Clemson University
  • Coastal Carolina University
  • Eastern Kentucky University
  • Ferris State University
  • Florida Gulf Coast University
  • Florida State University
  • Methodist University
  • Mississippi State University
  • New Mexico State University
  • North Carolina State University
  • Penn State University
  • Sam Houston State University
  • University of Central Oklahoma
  • University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
  • University of Idaho
  • University of Maryland Eastern Shore
  • University of Nebraska
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas

PGM graphic