Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer
Ferris State University BulldogFerris State University Logo

Granger Elected the Next Chair of Ferris State University Board of Trustees

GRAND RAPIDS – Ferris State University’s Board of Trustees voted Gary Granger (pictured), of Byron Center, as the new chair during its annual meeting in Grand Rapids at the Federal Building.

Trustees reelected Sueann Walz, of Big Rapids, as vice chair, and Dr. Bill Lakin, of Clinton Twp., as the new secretary. Officer elections are effective beginning Jan. 1, 2013 and run for two-year terms. Granger, the chair-elect, looks forward to the opportunities ahead for the university.

“There has been such good leadership ahead of me in so many areas,” Granger said. “That makes it much easier for me to jump right in.  I’m looking forward to helping continue all the fine work that has been done so far.”

Granger will replace Ronald E. Snead, of Greenville, as chair, while Lakin will replace George Menoutes, of Flint, as board secretary. The eight-year board terms for Snead and Menoutes, both Ferris alumni, expire on Dec. 31. Snead reflected fondly upon his time serving on the board and his time as its chair.

“I’ve worked with nine of the 18 presidents at Ferris. I was even on the search committee that hired President (Robert) Ewigleben,” Snead said. “I’ve worked to support the university since 1969, and it has always been a goal of mine to serve on this board.  As we move forward, I believe Ferris is well positioned to be one of the leaders in higher education in this country.”

Gov. Rick Snyder reappointed Granger to a new eight-year term on the board on Jan. 25, 2011. His term runs through Dec. 31, 2018. Granger is founder, owner and president of Granger Group, a national real estate brand development company that provides investment, financing, development, design/build, asset management and property management services.

Walz was originally appointed by Gov. Jennifer Granholm to the board for an eight-year term that began Jan. 1, 2007 and runs through Dec. 31, 2014. She is a member of The Ferris Foundation Board of Directors and the Ferris’ Founder’s Club, has served as co-chair of Ferris’ Bulldog Hockey Locker Room fundraiser and has received recognition from the hockey Blueline Club and the Pete Peterson Award from the Athletic department. Walz was co-chair of the Mecosta County Chamber of Commerce Holiday Gala for 10 years and in 1996 served as chamber president. She has served as president and vice president of Friends of Ferris, the university’s political action group, and has served on its executive board for 17 years.

Lakin, of Clinton Township, was appointed to the Board of Trustees for a term ending Dec. 31, 2014. His appointment was to fill the seat previously held by Patrick W. La Pine. Lakin is managing partner and senior Optometrist of Family Eye Care Associates. The practice includes five optometrists with offices in Clinton Township, Eastpointe and Washington Twp.

In other news, trustees approved future BOT meeting calendars for FY 2013-15.