Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Seaba Receives Distinguished Alumni Award

Hazel H. SeabaHazel H. Seaba, associate dean for assessment, curriculum and compliance at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, has received the Ferris State University Distinguished Alumna Award.

The Ferris Alumni Association’s tradition of recognizing outstanding graduates is an important one, said Jeremy Mishler, director of Alumni Relations.

“This recognition helps to highlight wonderful examples of individual success and fulfillment that our students and fellow graduates can aspire to and be proud of,” Mishler said. “It also keeps alumni connected to the university faculty and administration in a way that supports Ferris through their expertise, professional networks and personal philanthropy.”

Seaba, who earned a bachelor’s degree in Pharmacy in 1967, received the award during the Alumni Association’s annual spring reunion in May at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center in Big Rapids.

Seaba, of Iowa City, Iowa, also is a clinical professor in the University of Iowa’s Pharmacy and International programs. She obtained her master’s degree from UI and ASHP-accredited hospital pharmacy residency certificate from University of lowa Hospitals and Clinics.  She briefly worked as an assistant editor for the American Hospital Formulary Service with the ASHP.

For about 30 years, Seaba was director of the University of lowa College of Pharmacy’s Division of Drug Information Service, a drug information retrieval database with national and international subscribers. While at DDIS, she developed the Iowa Drug Information Network and implemented a customized drug information training program for international pharmacists. As an educator, she created, initiated and taught the required drug information coursework in both the B.S. and Pharm.D. curricula. She has authored several book chapters on drug information and literature evaluation.

Seaba’s teaching focuses on building new opportunities in the Pharm.D. curriculum for community-service learning, public health and health care accessibility, both locally and globally. She facilitates Pharm.D. student study-abroad experiences and offers a pharmacy projects course for these students. She is a founding faculty member for an international, interdisciplinary, service-learning course that enrolls professional, graduate and undergraduate students.

Ferris’ Distinguished Alumni Award is given to alumni who demonstrate leadership and service to their profession, to society by promoting and celebrating diversity, to community and service organizations by promoting health and well-being of its members, and to the university. All Ferris alumni are eligible for the award.

Recipients are chosen by a committee of nine alumni representing the different academic colleges. Since 1961, they have had the challenging task of choosing from the outstanding graduates who have been nominated for our Alumni Association’s highest honor – that of being called “Distinguished.”