Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Ferris, Nontenure-Track Faculty Reach Contract Agreement

Ferris State UniversityFerris State University’s Board of Trustees today (Friday, May 4) approved the university’s first collective bargaining agreement with the Ferris Nontenure-Track Faculty Organization. The contract, covering approximately 100 nontenure-track faculty, takes effect immediately and runs through June 30, 2015.

The new agreement includes 2-percent across-the-board salary increases for each of the next three academic years, beginning Fall 2012 and continuing through the 2014-15 academic year.

Eligible employees will receive a one-time lump sum payment ranging from $150 to $600 based on the number of credit hours taught during the 2011-12 academic year. The contract also extends health care coverage to some employees who were not previously eligible.

The university and the union began negotiations for the initial collective bargaining agreement between the parties in early February 2011. After 33 meetings of varying lengths over more than 13 months, the parties reached a tentative agreement on March 29, with the assistance of a state-appointed labor mediator. The mediator facilitated the final 12 meetings between the parties. The union ratified the tentative agreement on April 25.

“We are very pleased to have reached an agreement and are most appreciative of the work of our nontenure-track faculty. We value their efforts in the classroom to provide a high-quality and meaningful education to our students,” said Shelly Armstrong, Ferris spokeswoman.