Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Nearly 40 Student Scholarships Awarded at College of Education and Human Services Banquet

College of Education and Human ServicesFerris State University’s College of Education and Human Services Alumni Association has awarded scholarships to 38 students.

“We have a lot of students who need financial assistance and this helps to reduce their burden,” said Michelle Johnston, dean of the College of Education and Human Services. One of the scholarships, the Dr. Thomas Johnston Memorial Scholarship, was established in memory of Johnston’s husband.

The scholarships, which ranged from $500 to $2,000, were presented this spring during the 38th annual awards banquet. Funds were comprised of financial endowments and external funds deposited into student accounts.

Among the scholarships awarded were the James Ryan McCandless and Trevor Slot memorial scholarships, named for graduates of Ferris’ Criminal Justice program who both died in 2011 in the line of duty.

Recipients were selected based on academic standing, major, academic year and financial need.  Johnston said that the scholarships will motivate Ferris students to continue their academic success.

The COEHS banquet also acknowledged recipients of the Dean’s Recognition Award, Distinguished Alumni Award, Mount Pleasant Area Technical Center Instructor of the Year Award and Dean’s Student Advisory Committee.

“Every one of our students absolutely needed this money,” Johnston said. “These scholarships mean that these students can stay at Ferris another year.”

Scholarship award winners:

College of Education and Human Services Alumni Board Scholarship:

Elizabeth Claucherty Scholarship:

Delta Kappa Gamma Scholarship:

Robert W. Dougan Memorial Law Enforcement Scholarship:

Susan Marie Edwards Memorial Scholarship:

Dr. Earl D. Gabriel Memorial Scholarship:

Dr. Edward M. Griffin Memorial Scholarship:

Andrew V. Jeffrey Annual Criminal Justice Scholarship:

Dr. Thomas Johnston Memorial Scholarship:

Elizabeth E. Keeney Memorial Scholarship:

Ferris and Jean Leach Scholarship:

Lewis Barrister and Scholar Award:

Ryan McCandless Memorial Scholarship:

Dr. Mary McCorriston Child Development Scholarship:

Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation Scholarship:

Jessica Nagle-Wilson Memorial Scholarship:

Millard J. and IDA Quinlan Memorial Scholarship:

RLM Development Scholarship:

SOE Graduate Student Scholarship:

Trevor Slot Memorial Scholarship:

Dr. George Storm Memorial Technical Education Scholarship:

Dean A. Whitehead Memorial Scholarship:

Dr. Scott D. Whitener Memorial Dean’s Excellence in Education Scholarship:

Martin J. Wozniak Scholarship: