Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

AFSCME Awards Scholarships to Local Students

pictureFerris State University’s Local 1609 American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees organization has awarded scholarships to students from local school districts.

“It is our desire to help promote the importance of higher education to our local students at Ferris State University and in local communities,” said Tom Weaver, an employee in Ferris’ Physical Plant who also serves as AFSCME president. “It is with that goal that we are presenting $500 scholarships to worthy student representatives from Big Rapids, Crossroads Charter Academy, Chippewa Hills, Morley Stanwood and Reed City.”

AFSCME Local 1609 presented $500 scholarships to Eli Williams, of Reed City High School; Brad King, of Chippewa Hills High School; Jason Mason, of Big Rapids High School; Fay Young, of Crossroads Charter Academy; and Lori Whipple, of Morley Stanwood High School.

Membership of Local 1609 includes employees from dining, custodial, grounds and skilled trades.