Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Ferris Foundation announces 2008 Exceptional Merit Grant Awardees

BIG RAPIDS – The Ferris Foundation Board of Directors extended $27,991 in Exceptional Merit Grant Awards to five faculty members. Recommended by the Gifts and Grants Committee, the following proposals will receive a portion of the funding:

  • Gary Rodabaugh, professor, Biology – Submitted a proposal to secure additional field equipment for maximizing the hands-on field experiences of students in new courses.
  • Karen Norman, professor, School of Education – Submitted a proposal to observe, collect, record and disseminate best practices in middle level classrooms in MOISD area schools.
  • Daniel Wrubel, professor, Optometry – Submitted a proposal to obtain stock and uncut ophthalmic lenses for labs, where Student Volunteer Optometric Services to Humanity students cut and assemble glasses for mission trips.
  • Mary Elizabeth Zimmer, assistant professor, Biology – Submitted a proposal to obtain support to allow undergraduates the opportunity to perform "real science" in a research laboratory.
  • Kim Hancock, professor, Pharmacy – Submitted a proposal to provide students with an opportunity to interact with indigent patients at the House of Hope Free Clinic.

The Gifts and Grants Committee develops policies and procedures, and recommends additional resources for exceptional merit grants and Foundation for Excellence Scholarships.

The committee also monitors scholarship awards for compliance with donor specifications, recommends and monitors grant disbursement, and recommends student scholarship recipients for the Foundation Scholarship.

For more information or to make a gift to Ferris State University, please contact The Ferris Foundation at (231) 591-2365 or Details about establishing scholarships or endowments may be obtained from the Advancement Office at (231) 591-3825.