Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Alumni Association awards Legacy Scholarships

Photo of awardeesBIG RAPIDS – The Ferris State University Alumni Association recently announced the 2006-07 Legacy Scholarship winners.

Winners (pictured) include Amy Thomson of Alpena, Amanda Alverson of Athens, Bridgett Burns and Ericka Dittmar, both of Big Rapids, Jennifer Adams of Chelsea, Melissa Wernette of Frankenmuth, Tanya Jones of Fremont, Kaitlyn Talaski of Greenville, Andrew DeBoer of Lake City, Christopher Armstrong of Leroy, Kevin Gregory of Rodney and Karla Stoeckle of Sebewaing.

Sponsored by the Alumni Association, the Legacy Scholarship recognizes academic achievements and leadership potential in students whose parent(s), sibling(s) or grandparent(s) is a Ferris alumna(us). The scholarship is a one-time award that can total up to $2,000 and is presented in two equal increments for two consecutive semesters.

The scholarship was first awarded in 1996 to just three students. Over the past 10 years, the number of recipients has grown annually. Each award helps fund tuition, books, fees and housing expenses incurred by students.

To be eligible for the award, students must not only be the relative of an alumna(us), but also have a 2.75 cumulative grade point average and have successfully completed a minimum of two full-time semesters. Students must also submit an essay describing personal career goals and the role a Ferris degree will play in the achievement of these goals. In addition, they must submit a letter from the Ferris alumna(us) describing the effect their educational experiences at Ferris had on their life or professional career. Finally, the student must submit a recommendation by a Ferris faculty or staff member.

For more information about the Ferris Alumni Association or the Legacy Scholarship, visit