Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Ferris Construction Management students earn international distinction

BIG RAPIDS - The Omicron II Chapter of Sigma Lambda Chi, the International Construction Honors Society at Ferris State University, recently received the International Outstanding Chapter Award for 2006.

The award was presented to Dr. John R. Schmidt, professor of Construction Management and co-advisor of the Ferris chapter, while attending the Associated Schools of Construction's National Conference in Fort Collins, Colo. Locally, the announcement of the recognition was made at the chapter's recent induction ceremony and dinner.

The acronym of Sigma Lambda Chi, SLC, represents the Society of Leaders in Construction. Members are selected from the top 20 percent of the junior and senior classes. Co advisor and Chairperson of the department of Construction Technology and Management Dr. Edward Brayton expressed his pleasure in receiving the award on a night when the founding father of the Ferris chapter of SLC, Ralph Shields, also was being honored.

SLC chapters around the world are recognized with various awards for excellence in committees and activities; service projects to the major field of study; service projects to the campus, industry and public; honorary member installation; fund-raising activities; special social events; and pledge projects.

Two additional awards given are the High Achievement Award, reflecting overall quality, and the International Outstanding Chapter Award, overall excellence for outstanding activity in all areas. Omicron II received their first international recognition last year with the receipt of the award for service projects to the major field of study.

Energizing the chapter's membership, the chapter president at the time Nicholas Sawyer helped SLC double its efforts for the following year. Developing the Michigan Contractor's Forum, assisting senior citizens, among several other activities, helped the chapter's members tally more than 906 hours of service to the program, campus and community. Their latest project, accounting for more than 1,000 hours of student effort from across campus, was the recently unveiled Structural Steel Teaching Sculpture.

Student members responsible for this distinction include: Mike Arnold, Eric Balkon, Jason Bode, Justin Bott, Jeff Braman, Mark Buttery, Josh Clark, Ken Darner, Kristin Deneau, Jamie Erbes, Marc Felt, Bryan Frost, Matt Gerlach, Aaron Grove, Brandon Hartel, Eric Kemp, Tyler Kondel, Deidre Livingston, Jonathan Longtin, Arturo McDowell, Brent Milheim, Jay Minkler, Robert Morris, William Moser, Alex Onderlinde, Jason Orvosh, Ryan Ramey, Nick Sawyer, Todd Scharbert, Matt Schmieder, Brad Stevenson, Landry Stout, Melissa Temple, Edward Theile, Brian Timmer, Brandon Vandelaar, Dawn Vanderziel, Jason Verhey, Paul Westman, Brett Wilson, Dave Winsor and Brian Zwiep.