TO: Academic Senate

FROM: International Advisory Committee Elizabeth Wilson, Chair

SUBJECT: Year-end Report

DATE: May 16, 2005

After a great deal of discussion regarding the composition of this committee, the first meeting was held in November. At that time, Liz Wilson was elected chair and Ana Davila-Howard was selected as secretary. Despite its late start, the committee has accomplished several things.

Primary among them was the revision of the announcements for the International Educator of the Year and the Student of the Year-International Excellence. Both were reworked to more clearly delineate the kinds of activities that should be considered when nominating persons for these awards. In addition, expectations regarding the content of nominating letters were pointed out so that letters would be of greater assistance when the committee makes its selection.

In conjunction with this, a new form was developed which candidates for the international educator award were to complete. The purpose of this form was to provide the committee with a list of the nominee's activities in an effort to insure that our information was complete and up-to-date. Prior to this, the committee only had letters of nomination to utilize in the selection process. They, in turn, were quite uneven in terms of providing a comprehensive picture of the candidate's involvement in international education.

In addition to this, the title for the student of the year award was changed in order to more accurately represent the fact that either an international or domestic student could receive this honor. In other words, the student-of-the-year award is not restricted to international students.

The committee also decided that a sitting member would not be eligible for an award. This was done in order to avoid situations in which persons might feel pressured to vote in a particular way.

Along with these actions, the committee made a more concerted effort to disseminate the call for nominations by posting notices not only through campus-wide notices but also through the print media, i.e., The Torch and FYI.

The committee selected Adnan Dakkuri as the International Educator of the Year. Two students were chosen to share the Student of the Year-International Excellence award: Francisco Valencia and Benedikt Hager.

In addition to this work, the committee held the first reception for international scholars. The committee undertook this initiative in an effort to publicly express appreciation for the contributions these persons have made to international education. Honorees included faculty as well as in-bound and out-bound exchange students. This reception also provided a venue for formally recognizing several international scholars on campus as well as an opportunity to announce upcoming international activities on campus. Approximately 35 people attended.

Most recently, the committee has been working on its membership and has agreed to the following composition:

1) 3 faculty members appointed by the Academic Senate;

2) 2 faculty members appointed jointly by the Academic Senate and the Director of International Affairs who have led study abroad or been involved in faculty exchanges;

3) a faculty member from foreign languages or the Intensive English Program;4) a student chosen by the International Students' Association;

5) the Director of International Affairs who shall serve as an Ex-officio member of the committee.

The committee still needs to revise and update its mission statement. Hopefully, that will be undertaken this coming fall as well as any action that needs to be initiated in order to formally restructure the committee's membership.