# Meeting Minutes Ferris State University Academic Senate International Education Committee (IEC)

Monday, April 3, 2017 Special Meeting 11:00 a.m., IRC 134

## **Attendees:**

Scott Cohen, Chair Antionette Smith Epps Marty Lier Piram Prakasam, Ex-officio (via phone)

## Members submitting rankings in advance:

Cami Sanderson Jim Rumpf Jerry Emerick

#### **Members not in attendance:**

Roberta Teahen, Ex-officio

The meeting was called to order at 1:10pm.

## **International Educator of the Year Rankings& Discussions:**

Dr. Cohen and the members present discussed the nominees. Individual committee member rankings were then reviewed and compiled. Based on those rankings, Professor Ana Davila-Howard was ranked as the top nominee. The Committee then voted to recommend Professor Davila-Howard as the recipient of the 2017 International Educator Award.

The decision of the committee will be forwarded to Academic Affairs and the Faculty Senate by Dr. Cohen.

## **Study Abroad:**

A brief discussion was held regarding the survey being conducted with faculty stakeholders regarding study abroad procedures. Appropriate updates will be provided as the process moves along.

Dr. Cohen shared concern with the manner in which a presentation to the Faculty Senate was received at their March 14, 2017 meeting. Follow-up will be conducted with Senate President, Dr. Thapa.

## **Next Meeting Date for IEC:**

April 11, 2017, IRC 134; 11am

## **Adjournment:**

The meeting adjourned at 1:30pm

Submitted by:

Antionette Smith Epps; April 7, 2017