Distinguished Teacher Award Committee

2018-2019

Committee Members (College)

- Katie Axford, Co-Chair (PHR, Senate Rep)
- Dan Meyers, Co-Chair (CET)
- Emily Aslakson (OPT)
- Alex Cartwright (BUS)
- Timothy Eklin (EHS)

- Monica Frees (CAS)
- David Petillo (CHP)
- Gregg Potter (PHR)
- Cindy Smith (L/C)

Committee Charge

Select the teacher or two teachers who will receive the Distinguished Teacher Award(s).

Committee Activities

- The Committee met on November 15, 2018 to select co-chairs, review the award process, and establish
 a timeline for committee activities. A Blackboard course shell was created to organize and share
 committee materials.
- The Committee met on November 30 to review the application form and discuss opportunities to simplify the application process for nominees while still providing the Committee with the information needed to conduct an initial evaluation of applicants. Based on this discussion, the application requirements were updated to include a statement of teaching philosophy and up to three artifacts that highlight the applicant's innovative teaching methods or other distinguishing activities, in lieu of the essay previously required.
- Nominations for the Distinguished Teacher Award were due on Friday, December 14. The Committee was pleased to receive seven nominations of eligible candidates for the 2018-2019 award.
- Nominees received application forms from the Academic Senate Office and were encouraged to apply by January 18, 2019. The Committee received six complete application packets by the deadline.
- Each Committee member had the opportunity to independently complete an evaluation of each
 application packet utilizing a standard rubric. The Committee met on February 4 and February 11 to
 discuss applications. The Committee determined that it was not feasible to complete classroom
 observations and interviews for all candidates prior to the decision deadline. The Committee voted to
 narrow the candidate pool to the top three applicants (based on review of application packets), then
 complete classroom visits and interviews with the three finalists.
- Classroom visits took place during the weeks of February 18 and February 25. At least two Committee members volunteered to observe each finalist.
- The Committee conducted Interviews with the three finalists on March 4.
- Following interviews, the Committee met to discuss classroom observations and interviews and select the awardee for 2018-2019.
- The Committee Co-Chairs submitted the name of the selected awardee to the President's Office on March 20, 2019.

Recommendations for 2019-2020

• In effort to ensure continued depth of the applicant pool, consider updating the Nomination Form to allow non-tenure-track faculty and/or students to nominate tenured faculty for this award.