Final Report Distinguished Teacher Award Committee (DTAC) Academic Year 2019-2020

Committee Members (College)

Katie Axford (At-Large, Senate Rep)

Alex Cartwright (BUS)

Dan Meyers (CET)

David Petillo (CHP)

Mark Dyke (CET) Gregg Potter (PHR) Co-Chair Tim Eklin (EHS) Cindy Smith (L/C) Co-Chair Monica Frees (CAS) Andrew Wiltshire (CET)

Committee charge

The committee selects the teacher or two teachers who will receive the Teacher of the Year Award(s).

Committee Actions in 2019-20

- The Committee first met on November 6th 2019 to select co-chairs, review the award process, and establish a timeline for committee activities. A Blackboard course shell was created to organize and share committee materials.
- The Committee sent out University Wide notices and a postcard to faculty announcing a call for nominations for the award.
- Nominations for the Distinguished Teacher Award were due on Friday, December 13th 2019. The Committee was pleased to receive eight nominations of eligible candidates for the 2019-2020 award.
- Nominees received application forms from the Academic Senate Office and were encouraged to apply by January 20th 2020. The Committee received four complete application packets by the deadline.
- Committee members independently completed an evaluation of each application packet utilizing a standard rubric. The Committee met on February 5th 2020 to discuss applications. The Committee voted to narrow the candidate pool to the top three applicants (based on review of application packets). Classroom visits and interviews with the three finalists would be included in the next evaluation phase.
- Classroom visits took place from February 10th through February 28th 2020. A listing of each available classroom time for each nominee was posted in a shared drive and committee members signed up on line for visitations. At least two Committee members observed each finalist.
- The Committee conducted Interviews with the three finalists on March 4th 2020. A committee meeting immediately following the interviews was conducted to select the awardee for 2019-2020.
- The Committee Co-Chairs submitted the name of the selected awardee to the President's Office on March 20th 2020.
- President Eisler notified Lori Faulker of her Award on April 2nd 2020.
- The Employee Service Awards Ceremony was cancelled due to Covid-19.

Recommendations to the Senate

1. The DTAC recommended unanimously to extend the term of committee membership from 2 years to 3 years similar to other University Senate committees.

2. The DTAC recommended unanimously to revise the language in the Nominee Application Form. This involves lowering the percent teaching requirement for tenured faculty members to be nominated. The Committee recommends lowering the teaching requirement to be nominated and applying to "at least 66% of a full-time load" replacing the current language of "at least 75% of a full-time load".

Future Committee Goals

• increase nominations and applicant pool for the award

Respectfully submitted,

Gregg Potter and Cindy Smith 2019-2020 DTAC Co-Chairs May 11th, 2020