Department of Public Safety
1319 Cramer Cir, Big Rapids, MI 49307
If an emergency call 911
Campus Crime Hotline:
Student vehicle registration for the upcoming academic year will be available to students depending on their housing classification. Please see the table below for costs and dates of release. All student permits cost the same amount. Students must purchase their permits online.
If you are unable to park in your assigned lot please park in your designated Overflow Lot
|Permit Type||Registration Date|
|Commuter||July 19, 2021|
|Apartment||July 19, 2021|
|Residence Halls||August 2, 2021|
Commuter students who purchase their permits from July 19 through August 15 will have the permits mailed to their home address. Permits purchased on or after August 16 will be held at the MyBulldog Service Center located at 805 Campus Dr (University Center), in the lower level where the Barnes and Noble Bookstore was located.
Residence Halls, East Campus Suites, and West Campus Apartment students permits will be available for pick-up during check-in if ordered before August 23rd.
For every student, if you order your permit after August 22nd., you MUST come into the MyBulldog Service Center to pick up your parking permit.
|Permit Type||Fee Amount|
|Fall, Spring, Summer||$130.00*|
|Part Time (per semester, 6 or less credit hours)||$30.00*|
|Temporary (per day)||$2.00|
|Temporary (per week)||$10.00|
|Temporary for disabled vehicle||$1**|
|Motorcycles/mopeds||$35.00 valid for full academic year|
*No refunds after first two weeks of each semester.
**For a disabled vehicle, students are allowed two temporary permits per year, for a maximum of one week each permit.
All parking is by permit only. The fines for violating the rules and regulations are as followed.
|Violation||Fine||After 5 days|
|Unlawful Display of Permit||$20.00||$25.00|
|Parked in a Handicapped Zone||$100.00||$100.00|
|Drive/Park in a Restricted Area||$20.00||$25.00|
|Parking Prohibited 2-6a.m.||$20.00||$25.00|
If you need a replacement decal because yours is damaged, you may come to the office to buy a new one. The pricing is as followed.
|With or Without Decal||Cost|
|Transfer with decal||$1.00*|
|Transfer without decal||$130.00|
* Recognizable remnants of old decal must be presented to avoid $130 fee.
Applies in accordance to section 257.675 Motor Vehicle Laws of Michigan, and the changes outlines in Public Act 104 of 1994.
Any persons with a disability who qualify for a State of Michigan handicap parking permit and obtain and display such permit may park in any parking space on campus provided they display a valid Ferris parking permit that can be obtained at the Department of Public Safety. Vehicles displaying a disability parking permit must pay the parking meter fee, unless they display a State of Michigan Free Parking Sticker.
If you have any questions or concerns please contact our department.
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am - 7:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Telephone: 231-591-5907; For after hours contact FSU DPS at 231-591-5000
Email: [email protected]
Last Updated: September 15th, 2021