Department of Public Safety
1319 Cramer Cir, Big Rapids, MI 49307
If an emergency call 911
Campus Crime Hotline:
Faculty and Staff will need to renew their parking permits for the 2021 - 2022 Academic Year. Full-time faculty and staff are issued permits on a two year basis, whereas part-time faculty and staff are issued permits on a yearly basis.
Ferris Emeriti/Retired employees are also eligible for a parking permit. It is based every two years, just like the Faculty/Staff permits. If you are an emeriti/retired employee please go through the link provided below to order your parking permit. There is no cost for the 1st permit.
Faculty/Staff Registration Fees
|1st Permit as Benefit||$0|
Permit Registration will begin on Monday, July 5th, 2021.
Faculty and staff must register online using MyFSU. When you order online, we will mail the permit to your home address as listed in Banner. Please update your address before you order your permit.
Log into MyFSU and click on the following tabs: Employee/MyParking/MyParking Link or click this link.
Parking permits must be obtained for all vehicles that park on campus. To obtain a permit, you must present a current vehicle registration and a valid driver's license.
All parking is by permit only. The fines for violating the rules and regulations are as followed.
|Parking Violations Fine Schedule|
|Violation||Fine||After 5 days|
|Unlawful Display of Permit||$20.00||$25.00|
|Parked in a Handicapped Zone||$100.00||$100.00|
|Drive/Park in a Restricted Area||$20.00||$25.00|
|Parking Prohibited 2-6a.m.||$20.00||$25.00|
If you need a replacement decal because yours was damaged in some way, you may come to the office to buy a new one. The pricing is as followed.
|Transfer with decal||$0|
|Transfer without decal||$50.00|
|* Recognizable remnants of old decal must be presented to avoid $50 fee|
Applies in accordance to section 257.675 Motor Vehicle Laws of Michigan, and the changes outlines in Public Act 104 of 1994.
Any persons with a disability who qualify for a State of Michigan handicap parking permit and obtain and display such permit may park in any parking space on campus provided they display a valid Ferris parking permit that can be obtained at the Department of Public Safety. Vehicles displaying a disability parking permit must pay the parking meter fee, unless they display a State of Michigan Free Parking Sticker.