Public Safety is open 7 days a week, 24 hours a day for information and temporary parking permits. Parking permits may be purchased Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. during business hours of the Parking Violation office.
The Campus Map and regulations are adopted as part of the Ferris State University Parking, Traffic and Pedestrian Ordinance (Section 10.23, Revised 2010.)
To purchase and obtain a parking permit, you must present a valid operator's license and current state vehicle registration.
|Fall, Spring, Summer||$130.00*|
|Part Time (per semester, 6 or less credit hours)||$30.00*|
|Temporary (per day)||$2.00|
|Temporary (per week)||$10.00|
|Temporary for disabled vehicle||$1**|
|Motorcycles/mopeds||$35.00 valid for full academic year|
*No refunds after first two weeks of each semester.
|Transfer with decal||$1.00*|
|Transfer without decal||$130.00|
|* Recognizable remnants of old decal must be presented to avoid $130 fee|
|1st Permit as benefit||$0|
|Replacement with decal||$0|
|Replacement without decal||$50.00|
|Parking Violations Fine Schedule|
|Violation||Fine||After 5 days|
|Unlawful Display of Permit||$20.00||$25.00|
|Parked in a Handicapped Zone||$100.00||$100.00|
|Drive/Park in a Restricted Area||$20.00||$25.00|
|Parking Prohibited 2-6a.m.||$20.00||$25.00|
If you are unable to parking in your assigned lot please park in your designated overflow
lot. The list can be located here.
Applies in accordance to section 257.675 Motor Vehicle Laws of Michigan, and the changes outlines in Public Act 104 of 1994.
Any persons with a disability who qualify for a State of Michigan handicap parking permit and obtain and display such permit may park in any parking space on campus provided they display a valid Ferris parking permit that can be obtained at the Department of Public Safety. Vehicles displaying a disability parking permit must pay the parking meter fee, unless they display a State of Michigan Free Parking Sticker.
1. All faculty, staff and students are eligible to register, possess, operate and park a motor vehicle on campus. However, if all available space is utilized, freshmen applying to register may be denied parking privileges.
2. No student may register a motor vehicle unless the title to the vehicle is in his or her name or the name of a member of his or her immediate family.
3. The current state motor vehicle registration certificate and a valid driver's license must be presented upon registering for a parking permit.
4. Time conflicts between classes and employment are not considered valid reasons for special privileges.
5. All students are eligible to operate or possess a motor vehicle during the summer session.
6. Commuter Students are defined as those who live off campus. Resident hall students are defined as those who live in campus residence halls. Campus apartment students are defined as those who live in campus apartments.
Motor Vehicle Registration
1. All motor vehicles, possessed or used on campus must be registered.
2. A vehicle registered by a faculty or staff member, which is operated by a son, daughter, or spouse of said faculty or staff member, who are eligible student drivers, must have and properly display a student permit. The operator of the vehicle must use the proper lot according to permit.
3. The regulations for motor vehicle registration are in effect 365 days a year.
4. Residence hall students may register one vehicle only.
Vehicle Registration Fee
1. Student vehicle fee is payable at registration. A transfer of vehicle ownership will require registration of a vehicle by the new owner.
2. The fee for motorcycles and motor driver cycles are the same.
3. Faculty and staff are issued one permit at no cost. A second permit may be purchased.
4. Students are eligible for a full vehicle registration fee refund within the first two weeks of each semester in which the permit was purchased. If attending fall semester only, a partial refund will be granted with the return of the permit, prior to the first day of spring semester classes.
5. Motor vehicle registration expires:
As indicated on permit.
When ownership of vehicle changes.
When eligibility of motor vehicle privileges are revoked by disciplinary action.
When state motor vehicle registration expires or is canceled.
When a registered vehicle is traded for another (a new permit will be issued at a $1.00 additional cost, provided the remnants of the older permit are presented at the Department of Public Safety).
When housing status changes such as from residence hall to commuter.
When a student withdraws from the University.
When a faculty or staff member are no longer employed by the University.
6. The Ferris State University window parking permit is to be completely affixed with its own adhesive. Application of decal in any other fashion, such as taping to window or corners left not affixed, will subject the vehicle to ticketing. Decal must be displayed at all times on the lower inside corner of the WINDSHIELD, passenger's side. An expired permit must be removed before a new one is affixed. Permits must not be altered or defaced in any way.
Faculty and Staff Permits
1. Hanging parking permits shall be hung from the inside rear view mirror while the vehicle is parked on campus, numbers facing forward.
2. Window permits must be affixed with its own adhesive to the lower corner of the windshield on the passenger’s side.
3. Faculty and staff employees must turn in their parking permit upon termination of employment.
4. Faculty/staff permits are for use by faculty and staff only.
5. Faculty/staff who reside on campus must purchase an apartment permit.
6. Faculty/staff may not use spaces designated by signage, i.e. Maintenance Only, VIP, customer-designated areas, etc.
7. When new license plates are obtained, the Department of Public Safety must be notified of the new license plate number.
8. All parking permits remain the property of the University and must be surrendered at the request of the Department of Public Safety.
Replacement of Registration Permits
1. There is a $1.00 fee for any transaction involving a student car registration change after an annual parking permit has been issued. Recognizable remnants of old decal must be present to avoid $130.00 fee.
2. A faculty/staff parking permit that is lost or stolen should be reported to Department of Public Safety. Replacement fee is $50.00.
3. Part time students attending class must purchase a permit.
4. Residents of Family Housing who live in apartments during the summer without attending classes are required to purchase summer parking permits for their vehicles.
Displaying Permits & Temporary Permits
1. A Ferris State University current valid parking permit must be displayed when parking on campus.
2. Displaying a University parking permit on a vehicle for which the permit was not issued is unlawful and is classified as Unlawful Display of Permit.
3. Displaying an altered University parking permit or displaying a permit that is an imitation of a University permit is unlawful.
4. A temporary parking permit may be issued to an eligible student at a rate of $2.00 per day or $10.00 per week. Students bringing a different vehicle to campus and arriving after 4:30 p.m. or on a weekend must get an overnight guest/temporary permit, which will allow them to park until noon the next business day to exchange or purchase a permit.
5. A special permit may be issued to an eligible student in conjunction with a regular student permit for parking privileges in designated lots.
6. Any request for special parking privileges due to temporary medical condition must meet the state handicap requirements. A state handicap permit must be obtained and displayed.
1. Handicap parking spaces are provided for state approved handicap parking permits. Students are also required to display a valid student parking permit.
1. Motor vehicles shall be parked only in lot(s) assigned by the parking permit they were issued by the Department of Public Safety, except as described in 2. and 3. below.
2. Only faculty, staff and guests with permits will be allowed to park in faculty/staff lots between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. Students with a valid permit may park in faculty/staff lots on Monday through Friday between 5 p.m. and 2 a.m., and on Saturday, Sunday and holidays between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m.
3. Students with a valid permit may park in residence hall lots and commuter lots between Monday through Sunday between 5 p.m. and 2 a.m.
4. There is no parking allowed in commuter parking lots between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m.
5. No person shall park a vehicle on any campus street or in any faculty/staff lot between 2 a.m. to 6 a.m.
6. Parking on driveways, roadways, sidewalks, lawns and within yellow zones, posted or not, is prohibited. Improperly parked vehicles will be towed away and the owner held responsible for all tow charges and fines.
7. Every vehicle, whether stopped in a parking place on a street, parking lot or other parking facility, shall be parked within marked parking spaces.
8. Motorcycles and mopeds shall be parked only in their designated parking lot. Motorcycles and mopeds may not park at a bicycle rack.
9. University apartment lots are reserved for apartment residents. Student, faculty. or staff who reside in an apartment must purchase a permit.
10. University apartment guests shall park in only those lots assigned by the Department of Public Safety. University students who wish to visit University apartments must obtain a special parking permit from the Department of Public Safety.
11. Meter Parking
11.1 Students, faculty, staff and visitors may use any of the meter parking zones, but must pay the posted parking meter fee.
11.2 Parking in the meter area is enforced Monday through Friday between 6 a.m. and 5 p.m., except in Lot 39 (Rock Café), enforced daily between 6 a.m. and 8 p.m.
11.3 There is no parking in meter areas daily between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m.
12. Snow Removal Regulations
12.1 At certain intervals during the winter it is necessary to remove snow from designated parking areas. When this occurs, notices will be posted 24 hours in advance of which lots are scheduled for clearing. Vehicles shall be moved for snow removal by the designated time or may be towed at the owner’s expense.
12.2 In other areas, when snow removal crews are at work, parking which obstructs operations is prohibited.
13. No vehicles may be left or abandoned on University property. The University assumes no responsibility for such vehicles. Vehicles will be disposed of at owner’s risk and expense.
14. No vehicle may be left on campus during semester break without prior approval of the Department of Public Safety.
15. Lot 30 is restricted to Health Center patients.
16. Gated lots and lots with control booths may only be used as indicated on lot entrance signs.
17. The University reserves the right to temporarily close any campus parking lot, suspend its assigned parking privileges, and designate it for special event parking by authorizing new parking privileges.
18. Construction zones are restricted to contractors and others specifically permitted for these areas.
19. Dental/Optometry Clinic Parking. For parking purposes, faculty, staff and students are not considered to be public or patients and may not park in Lot 41 at any time. When visiting Dental or Optometry Clinics, faculty, staff and students must park in their assigned lot, except as indicated in Article III, 2 and 3.
Laws in Effect
1. The motor vehicle laws of the State of Michigan and the University Traffic Ordinances are in effect on University property.
2. Motor vehicle accidents on University property should be reported to the Department of Public Safety by calling 591-5000, or 911 if an emergency.
3. Pedestrians shall cross streets only where walks are designated and walk on sidewalks where provided.
1. The University receives its police powers for Department of Public Safety Officers under Public Act 120 of 1990 and has full law enforcement authority.
Fines and Penalties
Violation of this ordinance may be enforced in the 77th District Court or in any court having jurisdiction over civil infractions or misdemeanors in the political subdivision where the violation occurs. The procedure in such court shall be governed by its ordinary rules or procedures.
Vehicles with 6 or more outstanding parking citations may be towed at owner's expense. All fines and fees must be paid before a vehicle is released.
Drivers, owners or the person to whom the vehicle is registered, not conforming to the provisions of the ordinance, as defined in these regulations will receive a violation notice. All fines and penalties are due and payable at the Ferris State University Parking Violations Bureau located at the Department of Public Safety.
Appeals of parking violations must be made by the end of the 5th day after date of issuance. A bond in the amount of the parking violation must be paid in full at the time an appeal is filed.
1. A student may have their permission to possess and operate a motor vehicle on campus revoked for the following reasons and shall be so notified by the University Office of Student Conduct.
1.1 A student who is placed on disciplinary probation for personal misconduct.
1.2 Anyone who falsifies information when applying for parking privileges.
1.3 Anyone who receives more than 6 parking violation notices in a 3 consecutive month period.
1.4 Anyone who fails to pay his or her fine within ten days from the issue of violation notice.
1.5 Anyone who shall permit any motor vehicle, controlled or owned by said student, to be operated by another student, whose privilege has been revoked.
1.6 Unlawful displaying and/or using a Ferris State University parking permit belonging to another.
1.7 Anyone who alters and displays a Ferris State University parking permit or displays an imitation of a University parking permit.
2. Anyone in the above categories will forfeit all car registration fees.
3. Any student who is no longer registered for classes forfeits his or her parking permit and privileges.
4. Any faculty or staff member who is no longer an employee forfeits his or her parking permit and privileges.
- Parents, relatives and visitors who visit campus must obtain a visitor’s permit from the online guest permit portal or visit the Department of Public Safety. Permits will be issued for designated areas and times. Permits are free of charge. The list of designated lots can be found here.
- Faculty, staff and students are not considered visitors or guests of the University.
- The state motor vehicle registration certificate must be presented upon registering for a parking permit.
- Visitor parking will be allowed in residence hall lots on Friday, starting at 5 p.m., through Monday, until 2 a.m.
- All the same rules and regulations apply to guests as they do members of Ferris State University.
- Guests/visitors of campus during the summertime do not need a guest permit.
Written instructions on how to order a guest permit online can be found here.
Due to the reduced volume of cars parking on campus in the summer, Public Safety does allow exceptions from the normal parking regulations:
The following parking exceptions will be allowed:
- Students may park in any Residential, Faculty/Staff, Commuter, or Apartment lot without having to purchase a permit.
- Students may also park overnight in any lot without purchasing a permit
- Faculty/Staff who display a valid parking permit are allowed to bring trailers on campus as long as they park legally and take up no more than two spaces.
- Guests to campus, other than faculty, staff, and current students, will no longer have to secure and use a guest parking pass to park in most areas of campus during summer parking.
- Guests parking on campus at a metered parking spot will no longer have to pay the meter during summer parking, with the exception of lot 39 at the Rock Cafe.
- Any person parking at a meter in lot 39 will be required to pay the meter.
- Summer parking, for purposes of these changes, is defined as the first day after the last day of class each spring semester, continuing on until the first day of class in the fall semester.
- Fire lane and handicap parking regulations will continue to be enforced during summer parking.
FSU parking permits issued on the Big Rapids campus are good for the Big Rapids campus only. Those needing to park in Grand Rapids locations should contact KCAD or GRCC for information.
Last Updated: April 19, 2021