Skip to Top NavigationSkip to ContentSkip to Footer

Students Earn Community Service Awards from Michigan Campus Compact

Ferris State UniversityLANSING, Mich. – Michigan Campus Compact announced 17 Ferris State University students will be awarded for their dedication and commitment to community service during the 19th annual Outstanding Student Service Awards Celebration on Saturday, April 18 at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in East Lansing, Mich.

Each year, MiCC awards students from member colleges and universities across the state for their outstanding commitment to service-learning and civic engagement. Three types of awards are given: the Outstanding Community Impact Award, the Commitment to Service Award, and the Heart and Soul Award. This year, more than 240 students from 30 member campuses will receive awards.

James Young, of Big Rapids, Mich., will receive the Outstanding Community Impact Award. This award is given to students who have made service an integral part of their college experience through their significant contribution to community resources. The recipient’s efforts build partnerships between their campuses and communities to demonstrate personal reflection and a commitment to lifelong engagement. Only six students will receive this award.

Logan England, of Hamilton, Mich., will receive the Commitment to Service Award. This award recognizes up to two students per member campus in the state of Michigan for either the breadth or depth of their community involvement or service experiences. Only 31 students will receive this award.

The following Ferris students will receive the Heart and Soul Award. This award is given to students to recognize their time, effort and personal commitment to their communities through service:

  • Wayne Bersano, Rhodes, Mich.
  • Stephan Bieszka, Casco, Mich.
  • Logan Bixman, Fenton, Mich.
  • Chelsea Broekema, Ada, Mich.
  • Michelle Dunn, Ortonville, Mich.
  • Emily Evans, Canton, Ohio
  • Iva Haven, Big Rapids, Mich.
  • Jennifer Hoover, Big Rapids, Mich.
  • Aissa Jackson, Grand Rapids, Mich.
  • Ashleigh LaLonde, Linwood, Mich.
  • Israel Ledesma, Grand Rapids, Mich.
  • Tiffany Schack, St. Paul, Minn.
  • Ellen Schafer, Kalamazoo, Mich.
  • Natalie Weber, Dorr, Mich.
  • Aaron Zebolsky, Marshall, Mich.

MiCC will honor all award recipients at an awards brunch on Saturday, April 18 at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in East Lansing from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Michigan Campus Compact is a coalition of college and university presidents who are committed to fulfilling the public purpose of higher education. MiCC promotes the education and commitment of Michigan college students to be civically engaged citizens, through creating and expanding academic, co-curricular and campus-wide opportunities for community service, service-learning and civic engagement.

For more information, please visit here.