Ferris HVACR Teams Accept awards at ASHRAE Conference in Dallas, TX

Two teams of Ferris students in HVACR were honored in an annual competition sponsored by the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Engineers in Dallas, Texas on January 27th, 2007.

For a record seventh year in a row, a team from Ferris came out in the top three placing second in HVACR System Design. The team consisted of Blaine Banks, Philip Walton, Aaron Nussbaum, Dean Hopkins, David Avery, Dan Kasperlik along with faculty advisor Doug Zentz, was awarded second place honors in the design category.

Third place in the HVACR System Selection competition, also advised by Zentz, was awarded to Tim Diekema, Eric Fradette, Caleb Ringelburg, Scott Russell and Mark Scott.

The international competition is held each year to recognize outstanding student design projects, encourage undergraduate students to become involved in the profession and apply their knowledge of practical design as a part of a team.



Pictured left to right, HVACR Program Chair, Mike Fuetz, ASHREA Advisor Douglas Zentz, Trevor Fink, Brad Green, Joe Borders, Ray Wrobel, Bhushan Jhoshi, John Lindman