Ferris State University (Employer)
Ferris Nontenure-Track Faculty Organization, MFT/AFT (FNTFO, Union)
Mileage Compensation

Received AUG 3 1 2018

Governmental Relations and General Counsel

LETTER OF AGREEMENT

Whereas, the College of Arts and Sciences notified bargaining unit members, by email dated October 6, 2017, that it will discontinue compensating mileage for employees classified as Adjunct Instructor 1, and

Whereas, the Union filed by email dated October 12, 2017, a demand to bargain over the unilateral implementation of the mileage compensation, and

Whereas, the parties have met a number of times to discuss the matter and have reached agreement to settle the demand to bargain, and

Whereas, the parties desire to set forth the agreement in writing,

THEREFORE, THE PARTIES AGREE AS FOLLOWS:

- 1. FNTFO members who have the mileage compensation built into their salary and referenced in their appointment letter will continue to receive the amount for as long as they are reappointed to similar assignments. This will include: Rick Amidon, Jennifer Fong, Kathy Wykes, Sean Hill, Jenny Armentrout, Jessica Joy, Kathleen Tunney, Bunnita Ouwinga, Monica Rodriguez, Nicholas Melville and Breann McMannamy.
- 2. A non-reappointment will be grounds to discontinue the amount for any future appointments occurring after the non-reappointment.
- Members who currently receive mileage compensation but the amount is not built into their salary and referenced in their appointment letter, will continue to receive the amount until the end of the current spring 2018 semester, at which time it will be terminated.
- 4. Members will not receive mileage compensation in the future unless addressed in the appointment letter or unless required to travel by the University as set forth in Article 17 and/or the University's travel reimbursement policy, which may be revised from time to time. The current University policy can be viewed at this link <u>FSU Travel Policy</u>.
- 5. This Letter of Agreement will expire consistent with the expiration date of the collective bargaining agreement, June 30, 2020.

FOR THE UNION:

Mary Bacon, President

Sonya Alvarado, MFT/AFT

FOR THE EMPLOYER:

Paul Blake, Provost

Steve Stratton, Labor Relations

VPAA

AUG 1 6 2018

PROVOST