Academic Affairs Assessment Committee

The Academic Affairs Assessment Committee (AAAC) is a joint standing faculty-administrative committee that promotes division-wide collaboration and facilitates the implementation of policies and initiatives to foster a culture of assessment that promotes evidence-based improvement. The AAAC reports directly to the Associate Provost for Assessment who represents the committee to the Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA). The committee is charged to provide recommendations to the VPAA on matters related to the direction and oversight for all assessment activities in the division.


Working through a model of shared governance, the AAAC is responsible for the following:

  1. Establishing the development, exchange, and the advancement of best practices and excellence in assessment;
  2. Monitoring and evaluating processes and methodologies to assess student learning, ensuring mechanisms reflect good practice and include the substantial participation of faculty and other instructional staff members;
  3. Providing guidance and resources to support assessment practices;
  4. Collaborating with the units of Academic Affairs to develop and maintain a culture of unit-owned continuous quality improvement;
  5. Regularly auditing assessment practices including current initiatives, data collection, and outcomes;
  6. Developing recommendations to help the institution achieve greater effectiveness and efficiency as a result of assessment practices;
  7. Directing and evaluating the administration schedules and analysis of institutional measures of success (e.g., NSSE, FSSE) in coordination with other divisions;
  8. Assisting academic units to prepare for and meet assessment-related accreditation expectations;
  9. Directing, evaluating, and supporting divisional quality improvement initiatives, often a required component of the institution’s reaffirmation of accreditation, and the institution-level measurements that track improvements from those efforts; and
  10. Evaluating the progress and outcomes of these charges on an annual basis, using data to inform the work of the committee.

Committee Membership 2018-2019

  • David Alban, College of Education and Human Services
  • Stacy Anderson, FLITE Library
  • Jason Bentley, Retention and Student Success
  • Megan Biller, Doctorate in Community College Leadership/Extended and International Operations
  • Peter Bradley, Honors Program, Retention and Student Success
  • Sandra Brigance, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Linda Butler, College of Business
  • Sagar Deshpande, College of Engineering Technology
  • Bob Ewigleben, College of Education and Human Services
  • Cliff Franklund, General Education
  • Lincoln Gibbs, College of Health Professions
  • Kristi Haik, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jennifer Hegenauer, Academic Affairs/Extended and International Operations
  • Angie Hollister, Academic Affairs
  • Alison Jenerou, Michigan College of Optometry
  • Rusty Leonard, College of Engineering Technology
  • David McClendon, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Leah Melichar, Retention and Student Success
  • Lisa Meny, College of Pharmacy
  • Julie Rowan, Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning
  • Mandy Seiferlein, Academic Affairs
  • Gareth Todd, Academic Program Review/College of Engineering Technology
  • Fathima Wakeel, College of Health Professions
  • David White, College of Education and Human Services