Award Winners Announced At Annual Team Banquet

Twin Lake native Laura Horan received five individual awards and was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2000-01 Ferris State University cheerleading squad at the annual men's basketball-cheer team banquet held on April 8 at Wink Arena in Big Rapids.

In addition to being named MVP, Horan earned the Coaches Award for her dedication and leadership on the squad. She shared the Bulldog Award for cheerleading excellence with Shannon Warren (Flint).

Horan and Nick Lyons of Big Rapids were named co-recipients of the Most Spirited Award. Both Horan and Teresa Marcellino (Grandville) received three-year awards for their commitment to the team.

Lyons picked up Most Improved Guy honors while Belding product Ecstacy Smith was named the Most Improved Girl on the 2000-01 squad. Greg Goosen of Cedar Springs earned a two-year award for his service on the cheerleading team.

Coached by Ferris State University employee Amanda Hansen, the Ferris State Cheer team is considered a varsity sport and follows all National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) eligibility requirements. To tryout and remain on the team, individuals must earn a 2.0 grade point average and maintain 12 credit hours per semester.

The Bulldog cheerleading squad travels extensively to football and basketball games as well as other competitive athletic events. FSU begins its cheerleading season in mid-August when the squad attends the Universal Cheerleading Association (UCA) Camp at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. The season ends in mid-April.

Besides performing at games, the squad also takes part in may other extra events. Over the past few years, the cheerleading team has performed in the annual homecoming parade, at the Bulldog Birthday Bash, at various alumni functions and at both the winter and spring commencements. The team is also a regular at many local community events.

2000-01 Ferris State Cheerleading Award Winners
MVP Award ­ Laura Horan
Bulldog Award ­ Laura Horan, Shannon Warren
Most Spirited Award ­ Laura Horan, Nick Lyons
Most Improved Guy ­ Nick Lyons
Most Improved Girl ­ Ecstacy Smith
Coaches Award ­ Laura Horan
Two-year Award ­ Greg Goosen
Three-year Award ­ Laura Horan, Teresa Marcellino
FSU Home Sports Cheerleading Search