PTM Award Recipients

Every spring the Professional Tennis Management program at Ferris State University hosts a world class tennis conference for students within the program and for the PTM alumni from around the world. The 2013 PTM Tennis Conference on April 5-6th was once again a showcase of why the PTM program at Ferris State is second to none and continues to be the leader in training students for outstanding careers in the tennis industry.

This year’s event featured keynote speaker and tennis legend Roy Emerson. Roy Emerson is a former #1 player in the world, who won 12 Grand Slam singles titles and 16 Grand Slam men's doubles titles. He is the only male player to have won singles and doubles titles at all four Grand Slam tournaments. His 28 Grand Slam titles are an all-time record for a male player. His 12 Grand Slam singles titles stood as a men's record until 2000, when it was surpassed by Pete Sampras. He was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, Rhode Island, in 1982.

Bringing a world class tennis legend to Big Rapids, Michigan was just part of an exceptional weekend of education and celebration. The annual tennis conference culminates on Saturday night where the Men’s & Women’s Tennis teams and outstanding PTM students are honored with special recognition and awards at the PTM Banquet.


2013 PTM Award Recipients:

Academic Student of the Year:
Michael Janz & Kacie Zuck
Alumnus of the Year: Chris Michalowski
Faculty of the Year: Thomas Mehl
New Student of the Year: Jacob Ledger
Business Professionalism Award: Michael Janz
Janet L. Nash Award: Janie Sell
Wilson Most Impoved & Dedicated: Jessica Swanson
Patrick Kearns Education Scholarship: Nate Buechler
Kurt Hammerschmidt 4 C’s Scholarship: Newlyn Wing
Zakov Family Scholarship: Daniel Hunt
Scott Schultz Scholarship for Excellence: Brandon Arradaza

2013 Men’s & Women’s Tennis Awards:

Women's Team

Most Improved Player: Julie Fusik
Bulldog Award: Tabitha Simpson
Most Valuable Player: Ana Jan

Men's Team

Most Improved Player: Aaron Dial
Bulldog Award: Tyler Marengo
Most Valuable Player: Laurent Galarneau & Sergiu Laza



                                                Roy Emerson


                               2013 PTM Award Recipients