Motor Vehicle Parking and Traffic Regulations
For students, faculty, staff and visitors:
The Motor Vehicle Registration and Parking Violation office is located at:
Ferris State University
Department of Public Safety
1319 Cramer Circle
Big Rapids, MI 49307-2128
Phone: (231) 591-5000
The office is open 7 days a week, 24 hours a day for information and temporary parking
permits. Parking permits may be purchased Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
This map and regulations are adopted as part of the Ferris State University Parking,
Traffic and Pedestrian Ordinance (Section 10.23, Revised 2010.) See FSU Website for additional information.
You Must Show:
Valid operator's license and current state vehicle registration.
|Fall, Spring, Summer
Part Time (per semester, 6 or less credit hours)
||$2.00 a day/$10.00 per week
||$35.00 Fall, Spring, Summer
|Transfer with decal
|Transfer without decal
|* Recognizable remnants of old decal must be presented to avoid $100 fee
|1st Permit as benefit
|Replacement with decal
|Replacement without decal
|Parking Violations Fine Schedule
||After 5 days
|Unlawful Display of Permit
|Parked in a Handicapped Zone
|Drive/Park in a Restricted Area
|Parking Prohibited 2-6a.m.
Applies in accordance to section 257.675 Motor Vehicle Laws of Michigan, and the changes
outlines in Public Act 104 of 1994.
Any persons with a disability who qualify for a State of Michigan handicap parking
permit and obtain and display such permit may park in any parking space on campus
provided they display a valid Ferris parking permit that can be obtained at the Department
of Public Safety. Vehicles displaying a disability parking permit must pay the parking
meter fee, unless they display a State of Michigan Free Parking Sticker.
- Parents, relatives and visitors who visit campus must obtain a visitor’s permit from
the Department of Public Safety. The permits will be issued for designated areas and
times. Permits are free of charge.
- Faculty, staff and students are not considered visitors or guests of the University.
- The state motor vehicle registration certificate must be presented upon registering
for a parking permit.
- Visitor parking will be allowed in residence hall lots on Friday, starting at 5 p.m.,
through Sunday, until 2 a.m.
Article I: Parking Eligibility
- Parking Eligibility
- All faculty, staff and students are eligible to register, possess, operate and park
a motor vehicle on campus. However, if all available space is utilized, freshmen applying
to register may be denied parking privileges.
- No student may register a motor vehicle unless the title to the vehicle is in his
or her name or the name of a member of his or her immediate family.
- The current state motor vehicle registration certificate and a valid driver's license
must be presented upon registering for a parking permit.
- Time conflicts between classes and employment are not considered valid reasons for
- All students are eligible to operate or possess a motor vehicle during the summer
- Commuter Students are defined as those who live off campus. Resident hall students
are defined as those who live in campus residence halls. Campus apartment students
are defined as those who live in campus apartments.
Article II: Motor Vehicle Registration
- All motor vehicles, possessed or used on campus must be registered.
- A vehicle registered by a faculty or staff member, which is operated by a son, daughter,
or spouse of said faculty or staff member, who are eligible student drivers, must
have and properly display a student permit. The operator of the vehicle must use the
proper lot according to permit.
- The regulations for motor vehicle registration are in effect 365 days a year.
- Residence hall students may register one vehicle only.
- Vehicle Registration Fee
- Student vehicle fee is payable at registration. A transfer of vehicle ownership will
require registration of a vehicle by the new owner.
- The fee for motorcycles and motor driver cycles are the same.
- Faculty and staff are issued one permit at no cost. A second permit may be purchased.
- Students are eligible for a full vehicle registration fee refund within the first
two weeks of each semester in which the permit was purchased. If attending fall semester
only, a partial refund will be granted with the return of the permit, prior to the
first day of spring semester classes.
- Motor vehicle registration expires:
- As indicated on permit.
- When ownership of vehicle changes.
- When eligibility of motor vehicle privileges are revoked by disciplinary action.
- When state motor vehicle registration expires, or is canceled.
- When a registered vehicle is traded for another (a new permit will be issued at a
$1.00 additional cost, provided the remnants of the older permit are presented at
the Department of Public Safety).
- When housing status changes such as from residence hall to commuter.
- When a student withdraws from the University.
- When a faculty or staff member are no longer employed by the University.
- The Ferris State University window parking permit is to be completely affixed with
its own adhesive. Application of decal in any other fashion, such as taping to window
or corners left not affixed, will subject the vehicle to ticketing. Decal must be
displayed at all times on the lower inside corner of the WINDSHIELD, passenger's side.
An expired permit must be removed before a new one is affixed. Permits must not be
altered or defaced in any way.
- Faculty and staff permits
- Hanging parking permits shall be hung from the inside rearview mirror while the vehicle
is parked on campus, numbers facing forward.
- Window permits must be affixed with its own adhesive to the lower corner of the windshield
on the passenger’s side.
- Faculty and staff employees must turn in their parking permit upon termination of
- Faculty/staff permits are for use by faculty and staff only.
- Faculty/staff who reside on campus must purchase an apartment permit.
- Faculty/staff may not use spaces designated by signage, i.e. Maintenance Only, VIP,
customer-designated areas, etc.
- When new license plates are obtained, the Department of Public Safety must be notified
of the new license number.
- All parking permits remain the property of the University and must be surrendered
at the request of the Department of Public Safety.
- Replacement of registration permits:
- There is a $1.00 fee for any transaction involving a student car registration change
after an annual parking permit has been issued. Recognizable remnants of old decal
must be present to avoid $100.00 fee.
- A faculty/staff parking permit that is lost or stolen should be reported to Department
of Public Safety. Replacement fee is $50.00.
- Part time students attending class must purchase a permit.
- Residents of Family Housing who live in apartments during the summer without attending
classes are required to purchase summer parking permits for their vehicles.
- A Ferris State University current valid parking permit must be displayed when parking
- Unlawful Display of Permit
- Displaying a University parking permit on a vehicle for which the permit was not issued
- Display Altered or Imitation Permit
- Displaying an altered University parking permit or displaying a permit that is an
imitation of a University permit is unlawful.
- Temporary Parking Permits
- A temporary parking permit may be issued to an eligible student at a rate of $2.00
per day or $10.00 per week. Students bringing a different vehicle to campus and arriving
after 4:30 p.m. or on a weekend must get an overnight guest/temporary permit, which
will allow them to park until noon the net business day to exchange or purchase a
- Special Permits
- A special permit may be issued to an eligible student in conjunction with a regular
student permit for parking privileges in designated lots.
- Any request for special parking privileges due to temporary medical condition must
meet the state handicap requirements. A state handicap permit must be obtained and
- Handicap Permits
- Handicap parking spaces are provided for state approved handicap parking permits.
Students are also required to display a valid student parking permit.
- Early registration permits that have not been picked up within 30 days of the beginning
of the fall semester will be forfeited.
Article III: Parking Regulations
- Motor vehicles shall be parked only in lot(s) assigned by the parking permit they
were issued by the Department of Public Safety, except as described in B. and C. below.
- Only faculty, staff and guests with permits will be allowed to park in faculty/staff
lots between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. Students with a valid permit may park in faculty/staff
lots on Monday through Friday between 5 p.m. and 2 a.m., and on Saturday, Sunday and
holidays between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m.
- Students with a valid permit may park in residence hall lots and commuter lots between
Monday through Sunday between 5 p.m. and 2 a.m.
- There is no parking allowed in commuter parking lots between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m.
- No person shall park a vehicle on any campus street or in any faculty/staff lot between 2
a.m. to 6 a.m.
- Parking on driveways, roadways, sidewalks, lawns and within yellow zones, posted or
not, is prohibited. Improperly parked vehicles will be towed away and the owner held
responsible for all tow charges and fines.
- Every vehicle, whether stopped in a parking place on a street, parking lot or other
parking facility, shall be parked within marked parking spaces.
- Motorcycles and mopeds shall be parked only in their designated parking lot. Motorcycles
and mopeds may not park at a bicycle rack.
- University apartment lots are reserved for apartment residents. Student, faculty.
or staff who reside in an apartment must purchase a permit.
- University apartment guests shall park in only those lots assigned by the Department
of Public Safety. University students who wish to visit University apartments must
obtain a special parking permit from the Department of Public Safety.
- Meter Parking
- Students, faculty, staff and visitors may use any of the meter parking zones, but
must pay the posted parking meter fee.
- Parking in the meter area is enforced Monday through Friday between 6 a.m. and 5 p.m.,
except in Lot 39 (Rock Café), enforced daily between 6 a.m. and 8 p.m.
- There is no parking in meter areas daily between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m.
- Snow Removal Regulations
- At certain intervals during the winter it is necessary to remove snow from designated
parking areas. When this occurs, notices will be posted 24 hours in advance of which
lots are scheduled for clearing. Vehicles shall be moved for snow removal by the designated
time or may be towed at the owner’s expense.
- In other areas, when snow removal crews are at work, parking which obstructs operations
- No vehicles may be left or abandoned on University property. The University assumes
no responsibility for such vehicles. Vehicles will be disposed of at owner’s risk
- No vehicle may be left on campus during semester break without prior approval of the
Department of Public Safety.
- Lot 30 is restricted to Health Center patients.
- Gated lots and lots with control booths may only be used as indicated on lot entrance
- The University reserves the right to temporarily close any campus parking lot, suspend its assigned parking privileges,
and designate it for special event parking by authorizing new parking privileges.
- Construction zones are restricted to contractors and others specifically permitted
for these areas.
Article IV: Traffic Regulations
- Laws in Effect
The motor vehicle laws of the State of Michigan and the University Traffic Ordinances
are in effect on University property.
- Motor vehicle accidents on University property should be reported to the Department
of Public Safety by calling 591-5000, or 911 if an emergency.
- Pedestrians shall cross streets only where walks are designated and walk on sidewalks
The University receives its police powers for Department of Public Safety Officers
under Public Act 120 of 1990 and has full law enforcement authority.
Article V: Violations
- Fines and Penalties
Violation of this ordinance may be enforced in the 77th District Court or in any court
having jurisdiction over civil infractions or misdemeanors in the political subdivision
where the violation occurs. The procedure in such court shall be governed by its ordinary
rules or procedures.
- Vehicles with 6 or more outstanding parking citations may be immobilized with a wheel
lock or may be towed at owner's expense. All fines and fees must be paid before a
vehicle is released.
- Drivers, owners or the person to whom the vehicle is registered, not conforming to
the provisions of the ordinance, as defined in these regulations will receive a violation
notice. All fines and penalties are due and payable at the Ferris State University
Parking Violations Bureau located at the Department of Public Safety.
- Appeals of parking violations must be made by the end of the 5th day after date of
issuance. A bond in the amount of the parking violation must be paid in full at the
time an appeal is filed.
Article VI: Revocation of Privileges
- A student may have their permission to possess and operate a motor vehicle on campus
revoked for the following reasons, and shall be so notified by the University Office
of Student Conduct.
- A student who is placed on disciplinary probation for personal misconduct.
- Anyone who falsifies information when applying for parking privileges.
- Anyone who receives more than 6 parking violation notices in a 3 consecutive month
- Anyone who fails to pay his or her fine within ten days from the issue of violation
- Anyone who shall permit any motor vehicle, controlled or owned by said student, to
be operated by another student, whose privilege has been revoked.
- Unlawful displaying and/or using a Ferris State University parking permit belonging
- Anyone who alters and displays a Ferris State University parking permit or displays
an imitation of a University parking permit.
- Anyone in the above categories will forfeit all car registration fees.
- Any student who is no longer registered for classes forfeits his or her parking permit
- Any faculty or staff member who is no longer an employee forfeits his or her parking
permit and privileges.
FSU parking tags issued on the Big Rapids campus are good for the Big Rapids campus
only. Those needing to park in Grand Rapids locations should contact KCAD or GRCC