Advisory Members
Architecture

 
Mr. Edward Francis, FAIA
Resendes Design Group, LLC
Detroit, MI
edwardf@resendesgroup.com

Mr. Tom Nemitz, AIA
Cornerstone Architects
Grand Rapids, MI
tnemitz@cornerstone-arch.com

 

Mr. Steven Hoekzema, AIA
Tower Pinkster
Grand Rapids, MI
shoekzema@towerpinkster.com

Mr. Arthur Smith, FAIA
Harley Ellis Devereaux
Southfield, MI
afsmith@hedev.com

 

Mr. Charles Jylha, AIA, LEED AP
Skyloft Studio-R, LLC
Comstock Park, MI
carch@comcast.net

Mr. Joel Smith, AIA
Neumann/Smith Architecture
Southfield, MI
jsmith@neumannsmith.com

 

Mr. Michael Kirk, AIA, LEED AP
Neumann/Smith Architecture
Southfield, MI
mkirk@neumannsmith.com

Mr. John VanHouten
Progressive Architecture & Engineering
Grand Rapids, MI
vanhoutj@progressiveae.com

 

Mr. Dave Mielock, AIA
Mielock Associates, Inc.
Northville, MI
dmielock@mielock-architects.com

Mr. Jim Winter-Troutwine, RA
Winter-Troutwine Associates Inc.
Grand Rapids, MI
jim@winter-troutwine.com

 

Ms. Gretchen Minnhaar, AIA
Minnhaar Designs
Grand Rapids, MI
ltgm@aol.com
 
   
Facility Management

 
Mr. Marc Adelman, AIA, CFM, CCS
Principal
TVS Interiors
Chicago, IL
madelman@tvsa.com

Ms. Emily Burns, CFM
Facilities Planning Manager
Herman Miller
Zeeland, MI

 

Mr. Skip Camp, CFM
Facilities Management Director
Collier County Board of Commissioners
Naples, FL
skipcamp@colliergov.net

Mr. Steve Orsargos, CFM
Manager, Facilities Operations
DTE Energy
Detroit, MI
orsargoss@dteenergy.com

 

Ms. Samantha J. Dennison
Lease Administration Manager
GSA, NCR, WP3PST
Washington, DC
Samantha.dennison@gsa.gov

Mr. Roger Peterson
Senior Vice President
ARAMARK
Philadelphia, PA
peterson-roger@aramark.com

 

Damon Gonzales, CFM
Facilities Project Manager
HAWORTH, INC.
Holland, MI
damon.gonzales@haworth.com

Mr. Sergio Pages
Senior Vice President, Chief Information Officer
Structure TEC
Farmington Hills, MI
SEP@structuretec.com

 

Mr. Chris Hodges, PE, CFM, IFMA Fellow
Facility Engineering Associates
Fairfax, VA
hodges@feapc.com

Mr. Daniel J. Roth, CFM, MCR
Pfizer Inc.
Kalamazoo, MI
daniel.j.roth@pfizer.com

 

Ms. Deirdre Jimenez
Operations Manager
Jacobs Engineering
Global Buildings North America
Bingham Farms, MI
deirdre.jimenez@jacobs.com

 

Mr. John Stivers
J.H. Stivers Project Services LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
jhstivers@comcast.net

 

Ms. Janice Kitchen, ASID, LEED AP
Senior Interior Designer
Fishbeck, Thompson, Carr & Huber, Inc.
Grand Rapids, MI
kkitchen@ftch.com

Mr. Tom Theoret
Manager, Facility Services
Spectrum Health
Grand Rapids, MI
Tom.Theoret@spectrum-health.org

 

Mr. Filip Martin
Director of Engineering
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
Phoenix, AZ
fmartin@hyatt.com

Dr. Wayne D. Veneklasen, Ph.D., CFM
President, Facility Solutions
Grandville, MI
wvenekla@comcast.net


Advisory board committees are an important mechanism for connecting the university with professional communities. They bring external members' experience and perspectives to bear as the university considers future academic program growth and monitors the quality of its existing academic programs.

Advisory board member responsibilities include:

  • Assess and comment on department/program strategic directions.
  • Help ensure that programs and departments are attuned to professional and community trends.
  • Provide early input in the course and program development process as new courses and programs are being conceptualized.
  • Play an important role in the quality assurance of programs, and for each course or group of courses under its jurisdiction, will:

    • Offer advice and evaluative comment on new course and program proposals in terms of professional practice
    • Review the annual progress of continuing courses and programs, and the proposed course improvements contained therein
    • Assess proposed major changes to program
    • Consider any other matter relating to course and program development or operation

  • Offer advice on marketing, student recruitment, student internships, and job placement.
  • Provide advice and assistance on faculty recruitment, faculty development, and research opportunities.
  • Help to identify and create external teaching, consulting, advancement, and research opportunities.
  • Provide assistance, personally, through company affiliation, or networking opportunities in meeting the program needs for cash and equipment.